Motivated

Since today is the first day of the first week of my Pound for Pound Challenge, and one of my goals this week is to journal my food, I figured showing you all what I ate today would be a good thing to do. 🙂

Breakfast this morning was pumpkin chocolate chip oat bran with almond butter.

039

After my weigh in, I snacked on some veggies and hummus from a party we had at work this morning.

040

For lunch, I had leftover tofu stir fry that I made on Saturday night.

041

This batch contained red and green peppers, onion, bean sprouts and mushrooms all sautéed in Buffalo Sauce. The leftovers were awesome!

After lunch, I wanted something sweet so I had some Jasmine green tea with a navel orange. Yay, vitamin C!

042

Then my real afternoon snack was apple slices with peanut butter.

043

I’m still adjusting to not eating bars during Lent, but I feel like this has been a great challenge so far.

This snack was great and fueled me for a 5-mile treadmill run that I also very much enjoyed 🙂

For dinner, I incorporated a product I hadn’t had in a while.

045

According to the box, these are 100% vegan, which is a semi-rarity in Morningstar products, so I grabbed a box since they were on sale and I had a coupon!

I made Barilla whole grain spaghetti and topped it with a sauce containing mixed stir fry veggies and one of these Chik’n patties.

I made enough to have this again for lunch tomorrow 🙂

044

It basically took on the flavor of the sauce but I liked the texture well enough too. I have three more so we’ll see!

For my evening snack, I had a piece of toast with almond butter and 1 tsp chocolate chips.

046

I so could’ve eaten another one but 9:00 showed up and made me realize I’m not really hungry, just obsessed with this delicious snack.

So I had a cup of tea and now I am winding down and getting ready for bed. I’d say Day One was a huge success!

Giveaway announcement: Go visit Zesty’s site and enter to win a Blog Makeover for free! He does great work and whoever wins is a lucky blogger 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 23, 2010, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, running, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. i must find those morningstar things! those seriously look like real chicken!

  2. Finally the scale is going down again for me.
    How is not eating the bars making you think about God/praise God during the time when you really want a bar?
    Have a great day!

    • That’s a great question, Kim! I guess really it just makes me realize how I need not be dependent on anything or anyone but Him. I also realize more and more how being a “bar snob” is in direct contradiction to how I try to live my life. I have a heart for the poor and hungry in the world, so perhaps I should start stashing away $1 a day to that cause instead of my bar habit? Definitely praising God for all my blessings. Thanks for making me think 🙂

  3. Oh my, I really love your day of eats. It’s very close to the way I eat. Almond butter and chocolate chips on everything please!
    Have a great Tuesday!

  4. Great day of eats, you’re off to an awesome start!

  5. I think giving up bars was a great idea. Andy and I both eat them pretty often and it really adds up when they are costing us a $1 each.

  6. Morningstar Farms chicken patties are vegan now?!! Sweet! They didn’t used to be, but last year, MS announced that they were making more of their products vegan. Since then, I’ve noticed the BBQ ribs are vegan…but that was all I’d seen. I’m so gonna have to buy a few boxes now.

  7. You should check out morningstar buffalo wings, you will love them!

    great day of eats love!

  8. So Healthy! Love seeing what you eat

    Thanks!

    xo

    Jocelyn

  9. apples and pb are one of my favorite snacks ever! Hope you are having a great week 🙂

  1. Pingback: Everything…almost « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Almond butter is awesome « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Last one until Monday « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

