Pound for Pound: Week 2

Did you miss Week 1?

This week, I was feeling really good going into the weigh in. I did not care what the number on the scale said, honestly. I do care about this challenge because it is for a good cause but I figure, even if I don’t lose the weight I pledged, I can make a donation to my local food bank instead. 🙂

What really matters is that I am pushing myself, just a little bit, in the realms of healthy eating and exercising. This past week, I managed to get in some sort of activity every single day last week, thanks to a week long gym pass, and it feels so good. I took a body pump-type class, 4 yoga classes (!), and also managed to get 4 decent runs in (on the treadmill) over the course of the week.

God bless the Cardio Cinema! I am so sad my pass ran out though 😦

My eating was also much improved over last week, with only two instances where I broke the “9:00 rule.” I had a little trouble with portion control (dang tortilla chips) at a gathering on Saturday night but one time isn’t going to kill me. However, I did journal every day!

I am also hearing great things from my team members so far. There are 9 other people doing this challenge with me, all at various levels of health and fitness. Being their “Captain” so far has been a great experience. I’ve been sending them emails and messages and hearing back from almost of all of them on a weekly basis.

Being able to share my knowledge and experience of improving my overall health (not just weight loss) is such an honor.

So, let’s see how I did this week!

  • Last week’s weigh in: 151.6 lbs
  • This week’s weigh in: 148.7 lbs
  • Difference: -2.9 lbs

Now, I don’t usually lose that much in a week. I’m chalking it up to something being weird last week, since my weight was 148.5 just two weeks ago. But I did use the same scale as last week, wore the same clothes, etc. Just don’t look at my 2.9 lbs loss and be discouraged. This is just me and this is not normal!

This week, I also had my friend Farrah do my measurements and body fat, which I find to be much more important numbers anyway. This way, if the scale does not go down any further, I can at least tell in what areas I am making some progress.

Measurements (in inches):

  • Neck – 12.75
  • Shoulders – 41
  • Chest – 37.25
  • Waist – 32.75
  • Hips – 39.25
  • Waist-to-hip ratio: 0.83 (moderate risk – ideally this should be below 0.80)
  • Arms – L: 12.75, R: 13.5
  • Forearms – L: 9, R: 8.75
  • Thighs – L: 23, R: 23.25
  • Calves – L: 15, R: 14.5 

Body fat percentage (using calipers): 26.2%

I am happy to have those measurements done for now and it will be interesting to look back at the end of June and see what progress I have made.

Ideally, I would like to see my body fat get at least under 25%, if not 20%. I’d like the waist-to-hip ratio to come down a bit too. Those are the only measurement-based goals I have.

As for my eating habits, I feel like I did pretty good on the goals I set last week. I will be keeping these up into the coming week and set a new goal when I get the inspiration!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 1, 2010, in challenges, Weight, weight loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great job, Sarah! I bet you are an amazing inspiration to every member of your team. It’s cool that you took measurements, too, so you can see where you improve in all areas, not just weight. And it’s great that you have identified future goals…it’s what keeps us motivated and going, right? Have a great week, girl…thank goodness it’s March, maybe we will see some spring instead of winter, huh?!

  2. Awesome job girly!!!! Very impressive progress!

  3. Wow, I’m so impressed, you’re doing a great great job!! And you’re so right that it’s the little things you do each day to meet your goals that matter most!
    Way to go!

  4. eaternotarunner

    Great job, congrats!!!

  1. Pingback: First day of March « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 3 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

