First day of March

I love the beginning of the week and the month for many reasons, but yesterday was exceptional! I wish I’d posted about it last night but I ended up falling asleep on the couch before 9:00 🙂

I started the day off with a delicious green smoothie. This combo contained: 1 cup plain soymilk, 3 cups of spinach, 1 frozen banana, and a generous tablespoon of peanut butter.

A few weeks ago, Heather shared with me that she has made smoothies in her food processor before and had them turn out okay.

My blender is giving me trouble, so I gave the food processor a shot today.

It took a little bit longer for all the spinach to blend, but it didn’t get stuck and I didn’t have to add water to get it to start blending again. Success!

Mid-morning, I had some black coffee and nuts. Then I went to my Pound for Pound weigh in and got some measurements done too!

Lunch was leftover baked tofu that I made on Sunday night (just sprinkled on garlic powder, curry powder and sesame seeds) with some cauliflower that I roasted in the oven (sprayed with cooking spray, salt and pepper).

Oh yeah and a slice of whole wheat toast 🙂 I think this was even better leftover than it was the night before!

Later in the day, I started to get a sore throat (pretty sure it’s the constantly changing weather), and you know how it is when water just doesn’t feel good? I got the only other option I had (I was too warm to drink tea!).

I’m still doing good only having these once a week. Any more and I just feel “weird” and if I ever drink more than one in a day, my stomach hurts. I really need to just give them up already.

I snacked on some yogurt before my awesome 6-mile run after work!

Then I re-hyrated with some Powerade Zero.

This is definitely not my first choice, since it contains sucralose (aka Splenda), but I suppose it’s better than real Powerade with contains HFCS.

I’m just trying a few different things out to see how they work with my body. I’m definitely going to try coconut water next, per your all’s recommendations!

For dinner, I made Barilla whole grain spaghetti with a garden combination sauce. I added in my own red onion, green & red peppers, plus a Boca vegan burger for some protein.

After my dinner settled, I was doing some house work when the hunger monster struck, also known as my 6 mile run catching up with me! So I ate some of my favorite stuff in the world 😉

One slice of whole wheat toast with PB & chocolate chips.

Then 1/4 cup oatmeal with more PB & chocolate chips. This did the trick. I swear nothing fills my stomach or “sticks to my ribs” quite like oatmeal!

And yes, I stopped eating by 9:00. It helps that I got full and comfortable, then fell asleep on the couch!

How was your Monday? Any goals for the month of March?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 2, 2010, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. be more intentional with running – even after 5k.
    try not to gain weight this month before I move back to Raleigh. Hard when so many times you are eating out – with good foods here in the ville.

  2. The only soda I have a weakness for is Diet Dr. Pepper Cherry, it’s so smooth and doesn’t burn as much as other sodas – but yeah, I limit those for rare occurrences.

    I tried some of that So-Be Lifewater (yumberry pomegranate) and it was really good. A lot sweeter than I thought it would be, but I know when you pay for it – you’re paying for the bottle design! 😛

Leave a Reply

