Indian out of the box

I adore Indian food. All of the flavors, the spiciness, the vegetarian options! I am head over heels. It is tied with Mediterranean as my favorite food ever.

I have tried in the past to make these dishes at home but they have never turned out quite the way I would like them to. I need to invest in some better spices.

So, I decided to try something new tonight instead!

001I picked up this Archer Farms boxed meal at Target over the weekend. There were a few different options, but I went with the “Vindaloo” because I knew that was HOT 😉

002The nutritional information wasn’t the best, but I was willing to splurge a little bit for a good meal.

005I swear I had examined this box over and over before I bought it but yet, somehow I missed this little note: contains coconut and MILK?!

006Ugh. I read through the ingredients again and apparently there is butter in there somewhere. How did I miss it? Oh well.

I was also a little disappointed when I saw the size of this thing, especially when it says there are two servings! It didn’t look like that much.

003But after I cooked everything (only takes about 15 minutes), I measured it all out, since I am known to suffer from “portion distortion.”

0072 cups of rice? Yeah, that’s 2 servings. I’ll admit it.

I did this with everything and eventually put half of it on my plate. It definitely turned out to be more than it looked like! 

008I also had a piece of whole wheat toast to soak up the spiciness.

It was delicious but I’d rather have had more chickpeas. It was actually pretty filling too, more so than I expected.

009It was $3.99, so for two meals it was quite cost effective (especially since Indian food can be expensive). This also gets good marks for convenience and speed.

But unfortunately, I don’t think I would buy it again due to the hidden milk product. Plus it was a lot of trouble to measure and split everything up and still have a 600+ calorie meal.

I think I will still to the Ethnic Gourmet dinners if I need an Indian fix. But this has inspired me though to give cooking Indian food myself another try.

Perhaps a project for next week?

Have you ever tried a boxed meal like this before? What did you think?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 2, 2010, in Dinner, products and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. my fave frozen meals would have to be Amy’s….

    I heart Tarjay! I was actually there today…I heart their dried fruit =)

  2. A am always eyeing the archer farms boxed meals at Target, but still have yet to splurge! I actually make one of those pad thai box kits every so often, which actually say ‘vegan” on the box! Totally worth it! 🙂

  3. Try Tastybite brand- it’s delicious and also great for camping.
    (I haven’t checked it’s veganness lately though)

  4. Hi Sarah, I feel your pain with Indian food…it can be very calorie-dense, but OH, so good! My husband is Indian and so we used to go out to Indian restaurants all the time. Now, however, we prefer to stay home and cook…and why not, he is an amazing cook! The only problem I would have with his food is that he would use a ton of oil to cook with.

    That is around the time I started reading Happy Herbivore and I found one of her Indian recipes that is not only fat-free, but is also VEGAN! 🙂 And to make it even better, this recipe is SO easy to make! Check out this link for the recipe:
    http://happyherbivore.com/recipe/chana-palak-masala/

    Enjoy! 🙂

    Jennifer

  5. I’ve tried something similar from TJ’s a long time ago and I enjoyed it!

    I do agree that portion control can be tough to measure!

  6. I hate when I buy stuff that has hidden dairy! I recently bought the BEST Dagoba chocolate bar ever — ginger and lemon. I ate a piece and then glanced at the ingredients again (after having read them in the store). And dammit it all if there wasn’t milk in there. No wonder that chocolate was so creamy. I ended up giving the rest to my boyfriend, who was happy for my mistake.

  7. I like the Tasty Bites meals in the box. They have a Thai Lime rice that is out of this world.

    I love how you measured everything out. I would have done the same thing 🙂

  8. I don’t really eat boxed meals except for Annies mac and cheese 😉 Love that stuff!

  9. I’ve been looking for more cost-effective, figure-friendly ways to make Indian food, too. It is soooo goood! I think I’ll be having some this weekend, but I won’t be making it- it will be my ‘I haven’t eaten out in two weeks!’ treat. Mmm!

Leave a Reply

