Switching to cold?

Believe it or not, as much as I love oatmeal, I sometimes find it hard to eat when the weather gets warmer.

While that hasn’t happened just yet, I am feeling the inspiration to start experimenting with other breakfast foods, including some “cold” cereals.

I picked up this box of Kashi Autumn Wheat over the weekend.

It was on sale at Target and has a very short (and organic) ingredients list. Also, it was the only one I could find of their selection that did not contain honey (I’m not a total avoider but I try to when I can).

I enjoyed a bowl this morning with plain soymilk and a sliced banana.

The “biscuits” were crunchy and held up in the milk really well. The taste was just slightly sweet and unlike some less fibrous cereals, it kept me full for a good 4 hours.

According to Tina, the NuVal score for the Kashi Autumn Wheat cereal is 40. This isn’t too bad, considering Kashi Strawberry Fields scores an 11 and Kashi 7 Whole Grain Flakes gets a 29. Each serving contains 6 grams each of protein and fiber, plus just 7 grams of sugar.

I like reading about the NuVal scores because they give you an overall picture of the nutritional value of the product and don’t just base it on one or two factors. By the way, if you missed my guest post at Trading Up Downtown, you can check it out here 🙂

Two of the better ones listed on the NuVal site are Post Shredded Wheat ‘n Bran (NuVal Score: 91) and Hodgson Mill Unprocessed Wheat Bran (NuVal Score: 100), neither of which sound very tasty. But I suppose adding fruit & soymilk would make a difference.

I am constantly striving to find a tasty, affordable and nutritious cereal. I love Cheerios but let’s face it, they are painfully low in fiber and protein. Quaker Oatmeal Squares taste so good but they have 10 grams of sugar per serving! Not to mention both of those are “red light” foods in my house.

The Ezekiel Golden Flax is an almost perfect cereal for me, but I hate to pay $5+ for a box.

Do you have any cereal recommendations? I’m on the hunt for a low sugar, moderate protein & fiber, vegan cereal that isn’t too expensive. Anyone up for the challenge?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 2, 2010, in Breakfast, products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Quaker Oatmeal Square have 10 grams of sugar? I’ve never noticed that! Eek!

    I saw that Target is running the Kashi sale- I have every intention of hitting it up and seriously stocking up! Woo hoo!

  2. kashi go lean! then add sliced bananas or freeze dried sstrawberries/blueberries or fresh blueberries for optimum nutriton!

    • whoops dunno if its vegan, but i eat a mostly vegan diet and this packs alot of protein so it is what it is. it might have honey?

  3. I love cereal but had to stop having it in the house because it is such a “red light” food for me too. I love Kashi Go Lean but I’m not sure if it’s vegan or not.

  4. I love the Kashi Cinnamon biscuits.
    Here has been my breakfast lately –
    1/2 cup yoplait fat free vanilla yog
    1/4 cup dry oats
    10 cinnamon Kashi biscuits
    1 tsp ground flax
    2 T fresh homemade strawberry freezer jam

    SO GOOD! I just stir it up and eat it – then follow it up with 2 glasses of water!

  5. I like Trader Joe’s Organic High Fiber O’s. They have a freakish 9 grams of fiber and very little sugar. They are great mixed with soy milk or yogurt!

  6. Ahhh kashi go lean is the best cereal ever. I believe there is only 6 grams of sugar too! But Im not sure if it is vegan. I didnt know our Meijers here had NuVal scoring! just read your guest post…interesting stuff 🙂

  7. I really like that cereal but whenever I go to the supermarket, I can’t remember if that is the one I like or is it Cinnamon Harvest lol…shoot I still don’t know! ha …when all else fails, I grab frosted mini wheats ha

  8. I didn’t even know Ezek made cereal! I’ve never seen it before. Now I’m on the lookout!

Leave a Reply

