Dried fruit in oatmeal?

This morning, I decided to try something new in my oatmeal…dried apples!

Prior to this, the only dried fruit I have used in my oatmeal was raisins. Which I really like to use, especially when paired with chocolate chips 🙂

But I typically don’t buy dried fruit because even though it tastes good, it’s usually higher in sugar and more calorie dense than eating the real fruit itself.

But it can also be convenient when you are traveling (I pretty much lived off of Craisins when I went to Nicaragua) or if you just don’t want to break open a whole piece of fruit for a small serving.

I made my oatmeal with plain soymilk and water, plus a tablespoon of flax, cinnamon and of course topped with peanut butter. I took out half a serving of dried apples and chopped them into smaller pieces before adding them in.

The dried apple was just okay. I definitely prefer the taste of real apples in my oats as opposed to dried.

But maybe I should’ve cooked them in the oatmeal instead of tossing them in afterwards?

Do you use dried fruit in your oatmeal?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 4, 2010, in Breakfast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve never tried dried fruit in my oatmeal, but I think that maybe adding them in before will plump this up some (just add a little bit more moisture in there) and might would make it taste better. If it works, then that would be a great time saver when you don’t want to worry about your fruit going bad.

  2. I sometimes use raisins and always throw them in at the beginning. They get juicer and less chewy. I don’t usually cook with dried apples at all because I don’t like them, but I think this would improve them.

  3. I like craisins in mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

