Random home dinner

When I got home from work, I had NO IDEA what to make for dinner. This happens to me about once a week, ha ha.

I was just about resigned to make pumpkin oat bran (oh, the torture!) and then I found a can of red beans!

010

I cooked them on the stove with some red onion and red and green peppers.

Then I cooked a sweet potato and put some of the bean mixture on top, with a slice of whole wheat toast + Smart Balance Light on the side.

011Even though it seems simple and kind of boring, this tasted really good! I love it when random meals work out like that.

I also tried a new soda tonight that I found at Fresh Market:

013I loved it! And the ingredients list was better than the diet Dr. Pepper I had earlier this week.

Although, I don’t really know that much about Stevia and I have never used it in anything. So I don’t think I’ll make these a habit either.

What’s your opinion on Stevia? Educate me! :)  

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 4, 2010, in beverages, Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This is my second ‘I don’t know what to make for dinner…’ night in a row : / Yours looks good, I just go hungry when I can’t think of something : P Or treat myself to a little something sweet with something small but healthy (like pb whole wheat toast + a cookie).

    So far I don’t have an opinion on Stevia ; p been asking and reading, still not sure.

  2. I’m not sure about stevia! I think it’s fine in moderation just like everything else I suppose 😉

  3. that dinner looks great. I wish I was that creative!

  4. Mmm…sweet taters and red beans are great together in chili, so I bet that was one tasty random dinner. As for stevia, I’m not a huge fan. I know it’s like an all-natural sweetener and it’s low-cal and stuff. But I think it tastes funky. I haven’t tried the Zevia soda yet though. I’d like to, but it’s expensive!

  5. you can never go wrong with beans in my book lol

  6. I like Stevia, especially to sweeten drinks. It doesn’t leave the nasty after taste like other sweetener alternatives. It is pretty pricey but compared to the junk that’s in other sweetener’s, I am willing to pay extra.

Leave a Reply

