Last run before the race

I usually don’t like to run much the day before a race, even a 5k, because I am always afraid of hurting myself or being too tired to run the next day.

But today I really felt like I needed to feel the road again, especially since I have only ran outside a few times this week, which have been the first in a long time thanks to a rather brutal winter we’ve had.

Today we just did two miles and when we started, everything was great. The path we took was familiar, so I knew right where the 1 mile mark is…I looked at my watch and saw 8:44! I couldn’t believe I was going that fast. So I kept on going.

Unfortunately, about three minutes later, I started to get some really bad cramps (the female kind, sorry guys). So I had to slow down a little bit and I’m sure I was making some great faces if anyone saw me. So the second mile was pretty slow but we still finished and stretched afterwards.

Distance: 2 miles

Time: 21:29

Pace: 10:45/mile

I feel okay now but I’m hoping that time of the month-and-a-half (long story) is not starting tomorrow. But I’m going to take good care of myself tonight and hopefully be good to go for the race tomorrow!

Do you rest the day before a race?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 5, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I wanted to run today before my race on Sunday but my legs have been pretty tight so I have taking it easy. I did not workout at all today ((((gasp)))) and doubt I will tomorrow. I want to feel rejuvenated on Sunday!

  2. BTW I finally mentioned my race on my blog! lol

Leave a Reply

