Pre-race jitters

I was really excited about tomorrow’s 5K race until about 5 minutes ago. Where did these nerves come from?

Well, my friend/running coach/training partner asked me: “What is your goal for this race?” Meaning, what time did I want to finish. I jokingly answered her: “To not freeze to death!” Pretty funny I thought, since it’s going to be in the 20’s when we take off across that starting line. Yowzah.

But then I got to thinking: What is my goal for this race? What am I ready to do? Can I beat my PR (29:28)? Have I trained well enough? What should I wear? Where are we going to meet?

You can see where this is going. Now I feel sort of overwhelmed and nervous about tomorrow. Why am I nervous about a 5K, when I have a half marathon in less than two months?! This will also be my third time running this particular race and each time I do better. So why worry?

Since I am generally a positive person, I know this won’t last long. In fact, I’m already back to smiling because no matter what, I will have ran 3.1 miles. I just hope I don’t lose any sleep tonight! Wish me luck 🙂

Do you get nervous before races? How do you handle the pressure?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 5, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I had a full blown panic attack last night =/… I am really nervous about mañana

  2. I just ran a 5K race last Sun. Before the race I just kept using the bathroom.

Leave a Reply

