Anthem 5K 2010

When I woke up this morning to get ready for my 5K race, it was 25 degrees outside! I was a little anxious about that but otherwise, pretty calm and focused.

I had laid out my clothes and bib number the night before, so I was good to go.

002
I picked up my friend Kim and then met my aunts to ride down to the race. It was super crowded!

003 005

I met up with Farrah who told me to stick with her, but I knew that wouldn’t happen…that girl runs much faster than me and I didn’t want to burn myself out early.

When we crossed the starting line we were a little confused by the time and guessed the race must have started late. I also didn’t wear a watch (on purpose) so I really had no idea how fast I was running, just sort of “feeling it out” along the way. I also didn’t wear any headphones…I needed to focus on my run completely.

I ran the first mile sort of slow to warm up and just to navigate through the crowd. I lost Farrah about 3/4 of the way through, but felt totally fine on my own. Honestly, that is how I have ran the majority of races 😉

I was able to kick it up a notch through mile 2 and mile 3 seemed to go by in a breeze. There was never a point when I felt uncomfortable or that I needed to stop or slow down. I didn’t even take a water break (until the end)!

Before I knew it, I could see the finish line, so my arms started swinging to make my legs go even faster.

When I finished, I figured I had done okay but didn’t think that I had beat any times or anything. We went inside to have someone give us our official times since they have computers on site.

Well…

Distance: 3.1 miles

Time: 29:54!

Pace: 9:37/mile

Holy cow! I couldn’t believe it.

While this wasn’t my best 5K time (29:28) it was the 2nd best and the best time I have had at this particular course. I’m very happy.

I also felt GREAT after the race, I didn’t even feel like I had just ran and I wanted to go back and run it again. Wow!

And as always, it is great to share this experience with friends 🙂

006

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 6, 2010, in races, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. awwww congrats chickie! I am so proud of you! I think your time is amazing…

    I hope my race is just as kick ass as yours =)…i will be happy with 40 minutes. My course is going to be super hilly so that is scaring me a little. Wish me luck! =)…send me your fabulous 5K Vibesj

  2. great job! glad you had such a great run & pace. 🙂

  3. Awesome run! I wish I could run that fast. You are fantastic!

  1. Pingback: Vegan “cheese” « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 3 « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Good weather + good company = Great run « River City Fitness

  4. Pingback: Race day again! « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

