Pound for Pound: Week 3

In case you missed them, check out Week 1 and Week 2.

What a weekend!

On Saturday, I ran my second best 5K, woo hoo!

Kim and I after the race!

We also had nice enough weather to take the dog for a walk and did some major grocery shopping. Then we had dinner with friends and played cards, during which I enjoyed a few amaretto sours! It had been a long time 😉

Yesterday, I got to take the dog for another nice walk and attended an Oscar party at my friend Courtney’s house. While I stuck to mostly carrots & hummus, I did manage to eat my fair share of tortilla chips and jelly beans!

But I know that one weekend of enjoying myself a little too much isn’t going to do that much damage.

And even though I was facing a weigh in today, I did not worry that my weekend escapades would catch up with me. I was definitely not treating my body as a temple! Jelly beans are so NOT vegan. I broke the “9:00 rule” on Saturday and Sunday.

But, I choose not to dwell on things like that. I acknowledged those thoughts and moved on. Negativity will get you nowhere. I know I’m not perfect.

Instead, I reminded myself that today is a new day and it’s a new week, so let’s see what we can accomplish. First, let’s find out how I “did” this week:

This week’s weight: 149.3

Weekly difference: + 0.6

Net weight loss: 2.3 lbs

See, just over half a pound. Nothing to get concerned about. I overdid a few things this weekend, plus sometimes the weight fluctuates for other reasons (hormones, stress, etc).

Especially after losing 2.9 lbs. last week, it’s almost a given to either stay the same or go up a little bit.

This morning when I was getting ready for work, I had an overwhelming sense of loving my body. I treat it well most of the time and I definitely give it plenty of exercise!

I’m happy and comfortable where I am. Jelly beans and amaretto sours aside, I eat very well most of the time. I feel the best I ever have. Running is going great! Life is good.

And while I am hoping to get some results from this challenge, it is mostly about helping the hungry and inspiring my co-workers to get healthy themselves.

Goals for this week

  • Get in at least 2 days of strength training (only got 1 last week)
  • Absolutely NO diet sodas (I have lost control with them and artificial sweeteners make me eat more)
  • Stay positive! 🙂

What are your goals for this week?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 8, 2010, in challenges, Weight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. You have such a healthy attitude about the wknd! I didn’t gain any over the wknd (which I should have), but I gained Th and F, so I need to get that off!
    Doing Cherokee tonight.
    No diet sodas sound like a plan to me – I need to do that because I’ve been drinking way too many of them.

  2. FYI: Starburst Jelly Beans are vegan! And they’re tastier than regular old jelly beans. It’s weird though because actual Starburst are not vegan, but their jelly beans are.

  3. I love to read that a woman had an overwhelming sense of LOVING her body! That’s great! Good job on all your progress!

  4. Yay for your weight loss and still enjoying little treats! life is about balance and I think you are doing such a great job!!!!!

    my goals this week is to have two outdoor runs!

  5. That is so refreshing that you choose not to dwell on things that weren’t “perfect”. You can’t change it and it fit into living a balanced life. Great job! 🙂

  6. Keep at it – you’re doing well. Positivity is so important, and you have it in bundles. Jonny

  7. I found your blog through the WordPress dashboard and I’m so glad I did. You have such a great attitude. I am now thinking of getting back into running and I may just sign up for a 5k to motivate myself!

  1. Pingback: Thanks for the support « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

