Thanks for the support

Thank you times a million for all the comments on my last post! You guys are too sweet, for real.

Guess what? It’s Monday, which means you get to see everything I ate today. Are you ready?

003For breakfast, I had a green smoothie.

This one contained 1 cup of Almond Breeze (unsweetened vanilla), 1 frozen banana, a tablespoon of peanut butter, a few big handfuls of spinach and 1/2 tbsp of maca powder.

Maca what?

002I had heard of maca powder before, but wasn’t really sure what it was until I read about it recently on Gina’s blog. Apparently maca is an awesome thing!

Not so awesome was the $8.99 price tag at Whole Foods. But I decided to try it for a while to see what it was all about.

I used another “new” product in my smoothie today: organic spinach.

001I am trying to buy more organic produce and spinach is one of the 12 you should get organic, known as “The Dirty Dozen.”

004Unfortunately, I think the maca left a funky taste in the smoothie. I drank it all but something was off about it.

Mid-morning, I snacked on some mixed nuts. I also had one cup of black coffee.

005Lunch was the Mayan Harvest Bake Kashi meal. For a better description, see this post back from before I was vegan 😉

006This meal tasted good but it didn’t seem like as much as the last time I had it. Oh well!

For my afternoon snack, I had a Primal Strip.

008These snacks are genius. I absolutely love them. Low calories, high protein, vegan. Sold!

As I was wrapping up things with work, I started to get really hungry again so I grabbed these on the way to meet my running group.

009There is not much too these but they really satisfied me and I ran right after I ate them with no problems whatsoever.

I got to say running group today because there were three of us! It was an awesome 5 mile run, which you can read about over at River City Fitness!

Last week when I was trying to think of more natural post-workout drinks, I remembered this little electrolyte mix packets they sell at Whole Foods.

010These are 35 cents a piece, so I grabbed 5 of them for the total of $1.75 when I was paying around $1 per bottle of VitaminWater, Sobe, etc.

It was very refreshing…both in taste and cost effectiveness!

For dinner, I did my part to replace my glycogen stores, ha ha.

011I made Barilla whole grain pasta and topped it with 365 brand organic pasta sauce (roasted red pepper) with broccoli and Gimme Lean sausage mixed in. Plus a breadstick on the side.

It was delicious and even slightly spicy!

012 For dessert, I had two pieces of toast with almond butter and chocolate chips.

013 I am falling asleep watching “24” now so I’d better sign off.

I’d noticed that my Monday eats are becoming rather repetitive (green smoothie, pasta, etc.) so I’m thinking of moving the day around or perhaps doing more than one day a week.

Just bare with me 😉 Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 8, 2010, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. ohhhh now I have a reason to like mondays! You know how I feel about you posting eats…I love it!

    I am off to read a fabulous fitness blog…I think you may know the writer =)

  2. Looks like a delicious day of eats!

Leave a Reply

