Running with a purpose

Okay, I guess I should’ve thought of a better title since I’m not being serious. Sorry in advance if I mislead you 😉

My running partner was sick so I was on my own today. It was way too nice outside to spend 2 miles on the treadmill, so I hit the streets!

Distance: 2.08 miles

Time: 19:28

Average Pace: 9:22/mile

Holy cow! That is faster than my recent 5K pace! Why was I running so fast?

Well, it was a nice day out. I was listening to my favorite Goo Goo Dolls songs on my iPod. My legs felt good…and…

I HAD TO PEE!

Yep, about halfway through I got a serious urge to go even though I didn’t need to before I left. Note to self: always go, even when you don’t think you need to. This run turned into a mission to reach the bathroom as quickly as possible.

Luckily, I made it in time. And I have to say, perhaps I should use this method again if it means running this fast, ha ha. No, don’t think so.

I also had an awesome weight training session today but I’ll post about that later.

Answers to your questions

Lots of you have asked me how I calculate my distance, time, and pace. So here’s what I do:

  • I measure out the path I run on Map My Run. It helps to do this ahead of time, especially if you are trying to reach a certain distance.
  • I have a really nice $10 watch from Target that I use to keep track of my time (using the Stopwatch feature). I keep it running, unless I have to wait for a stop light, in which case I “pause” it until I start up again.
  • I calculate my average pace using Cool Running’s Pace Calculator. It’s the best one I’ve found, since I don’t have a Garmin or anything (yet).
About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 9, 2010, in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I use mapmyrun too =) I have to check out the cool running link! Thanks for this fabulous post, I have been so neurotic today.

  2. DailyMile.com will calculate your pace for you as well. When you plug in your mileage and time, it automatically does pace. 😀

    I love body pump! (getting caught up!)

  1. Pingback: “Trust me, I’m a doctor” « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

