Peas and Chreese

I had the best dinner last night!

006

First, I decided to try yet another version of Mama Pea’s roasted chickpeas.

This time I mixed in some Sweet Red Chili sauce (plus apple cider vinegar, olive oil and cumin).

008

I also tried another version of Mac & Chreese, which I made previously and I thought was “just okay.” I decided to try cheddar style this time!

007

To finish things off, I reheated some mixed veggies. Oh…my…goodness.

010

Everything was delicious. And this shells & chreese kicked butt! I mean, look at it. Perfect!

011

I just used water and a teaspoon of Smart Balance Light with the chreese sauce.

I hadn’t really missed cheese products since I went vegan in October, but I’ve been wanting so more variety lately.

And it is so nice to have things like grilled “cheese” and mac & “cheese” that totally fit into my diet.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 10, 2010, in Dinner, products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Roasted chickpeas with sweet chili Thai sauce is a great sounding combo! I’m going to have to add this to the menu for next week.

  2. Here is my best roasted chickpea recipe, and it is SO good! We have it all the time (it is really good to have as a munchie with a couple drinks, too! 😉

    Cooked garbanzos
    enough dijon mustard (grainy) to give a good coat on the garbanzos
    a few shakes of hot sauce (like Tabasco or similar)
    a splash of malt vinegar (to give it a little tang)
    several spoonfuls of nutritional yeast flakes (make a thick coating)
    Salt to taste

    bake at 400 for 20 minutes

    Delicious!

  3. I still haven’t tried roasted chickpeas! They sound so good 🙂

  4. That mac and chreese doesn’t even look vegan! I bet I could convince my 8 year brother to try it. I’m going to have to hit up whole foods to check it out.

  5. Oh goodness…that mac n’ cheese looks really delicious!!!! have u ever tried Amy’s mac and cheese? if so, which one do you think is tastier?

  1. Pingback: Mac ‘n Teese « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

