Time not distance

On Saturday morning, the weather was perfect for a run. It was in the low 50’s, overcast, and no wind. I hadn’t planned on running that morning but it was too good to pass up, especially since I hadn’t ran in three days!

I had about an hour before I had to start getting ready for a lunch/movie date with my family, so I decided to run for 50 minutes, not including a warm up and cool down.

So I started out just going around the neighborhood and down every side street. Before I knew it, it was 46 minutes past and I just had to swing back around and come home!

Time: 50:11

Distance: 4.64

Pace: 10:49/mile

I was a little disappointed when I measured my path and saw the distance was that short. But I was really running for time and not distance and just sort of went with the flow without a real path planned out ahead of time.

I still feel really good about the run! If I’d had more time, I could have gone further and my body felt really good afterward.

Just wanted to report what I’d been up to. Toward the end of last week, I wasn’t feeling so great and had some stuff going on but it’s all good now. Looking forward to starting a new week!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 14, 2010, in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I never used to run for distance but now that I want to start doing more races, I have been trying to increase my miles. I got that Nike/iPod thingy and I can’t wait to use it tomorrow morning! We are supposed to get some sun….FINALLY

Leave a Reply

