Guest post: Amanda's running story

Hi Everyone!

Picture 193236

My name is Amanda and I blog over at Two Boos Who Eat with my husband Andy. I was pretty excited to write a guest post for Sarah. Her blog is one of my favorites. I’ve been reading it for quite for some time!

I grew up with a marathon runner. My father runs anywhere from 25-45 miles a week! Growing up, I spent a lot of time at races and the running club my dad was a member of. I always felt that running was in my blood but never found a time to start.

I remember the first time I tried to run. I figured it would be easy. I could only run for about 30 seconds before practically passing out! I was out of breath, sore and tired. I kept at it and eventually was able to run a mile. (Though, I admit I’m still pretty slow. I can maybe run a 12 minute mile.) I honestly can’t believe how difficult running felt for me at first. I started to think that I would never be able to do it!

I started using the Couch to 5k program 9 weeks ago to help train myself for my first 5k. I’m running with my husband on March 27th! The Couch to 5k program is an excellent tool to help a new runner get off the couch and out running. I never would have imagined that I could run 3 miles! It’s a little scary being a new runner and I’ve experienced some pain along the way.

003

My knees and heel on my right leg have been killing me. I went to a running store where they had me try on several pairs of shoes for people with motion control/stability issues. I wish I had bought these shoes earlier! I’m wearing Brooks Ariels. I also invested in a shoe wallet so I can run outside without holding my id or my keys.

004
004

Buying an ice pack for my knee has helped tremendously too. It’s hilarious to me that I have given up junk food and soda for things like running shoes, shoe wallets and ice packs.

My first 5k is on March 27th and I hope to finish. I decided to stop giving myself a goal time because I should be thankful for the ability to finish over anything else. Slow and steady wins the race. I hope to continue running and would love to sign up for more races in the future.

Thanks for letting me guest post Sarah!

It is so good to be back in town but I am so glad to have left for a while because these have been the most amazing guest posts! I am so inspired by these ladies and I know you all are too. Thanks Amanda and good luck on the 27th!!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 21, 2010, in guest post, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am so proud of you! I wish I could be there to cheer you on…I know you are going to do an amazing job!

    I bet you will run alongside your dad very soon =)

  2. YaY Amanda! Great guest post! 😀

  3. thanks for letting me guest post, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

