Major carb-age

This morning, I started my day off with my Monday tradition…a delicious green smoothie!

018

This smoothie contained: 1 cup Light vanilla soymilk, 1 frozen banana, 1 tablespoon almond butter and a whole lotta organic baby spinach. YUM!

Mari has decided to start a Green Monster Challenge where she will have one green smoothie a day (as one of her meals) for a month. I’m going to do my best to participate but it’s going to require some creativity on my part 🙂

I had coffee with coconut milk creamer and almonds for a snack but forgot to photograph them, sorry! I am out of practice.

Since I had a smoothie for breakfast, I decided it only made sense to have oatmeal for lunch! Here was the star ingredient:

019

I am really enjoying these Peeled Snacks dried fruit. The company sent me free samples to try and so far, I have loved them all!

The dried cherries were soft, chewy and not as sweet as dried cherries I have had in the past. That is my favorite thing about these snacks, which you can find at Starbucks.

020

I loved having oatmeal for lunch…this might become a habit 🙂

Later in the afternoon, I had another cup of coffee (oops) and some yogurt.

021

After work, I went on a 5-mile run and I was quite hungry when I got home. I had my usual Monday night pasta dinner!

023I had 1 1/4 cups of Barilla whole grain spaghetti, topped with Meijer organic pasta sauce (pictured below), steamed broccoli, a chopped up vegan burger and nutritional yeast. Plus a pita pocket with Smart Balance Light on the side.     022

This sauce was pretty good and I definitely liked the price and ingredients list. But the 365 brand I had a few weeks ago (roasted red pepper) has so much more flavor.

This wasn’t too shabby though!

024

For my after dinner snack, I had to try out a new product I picked up at Meijer yesterday:

025

These are basically like sandwich thins, only they taste like Thomas bagels and have a hole in the middle 🙂

I topped mine with peanut butter and chocolate chips! I splurged and got the Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips this time, yum.

026

But apparently, I got a case of the “runner’s munchies” because I decided to bust out the Oatmeal crack Squares for another snack.

I had two little cups of cereal with soymilk before calling it a night (as far as eating goes) just after 9:00.

027

I’m going to have to be careful with these this week. I can’t help it though…they were on sale for $1.67 at Meijer and I had a $1 off coupon. I got a $4 box of cereal for 67 cents!!

Hope you had a great Monday too! Now that my glycogen stores are definitely replaced, I can go to bed now, ha ha. Good night 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 22, 2010, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I remember you doing a similar challenge last year so I am sure you can be creative lol

    Dude your din din looks so good! I wanted to dive into that bowl of pasta!

    I think I want to make a Veggie Lasagna this weekend…I am pretty excited ha

  1. Pingback: I love Mondays « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

