Recipe: Chickpea Burgers with Guacamole

Doesn’t that sound like a strange combination?

007The original recipe on which this was based was called Chickpea Burgers & Tahini Sauce but as I was preparing to make the main dish for girl’s night potluck last Wednesday (St. Patrick’s Day), I realized “I need something GREEN!”

Guacamole was an easy choice and I have used it on black bean burgers before so I was sure it would be just fine on these too.

But first, I had to make the burgers! I changed a few things from the original recipe but I’m still “quoting” it.
 003

Ingredients:

    • 1 14-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed
    • 4 scallions (aka green onions), trimmed and sliced
    • 1 Flax “egg” (1 tbsp ground flax seed + 1/4 cup water)
    • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
    • 1 tablespoon ground cilantro
    • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt
    • Whole wheat pita pockets

Directions:

Place chickpeas, scallions, flax mixture, flour, cilantro, cumin and 1/4 teaspoon salt in a food processor or blender.

Pulse, stopping once or twice to scrape down the sides, until a coarse, moist mixture forms that holds together when pressed. Form into 4 patties.

004

Spray skillet with non-stick cooking spray then add patties and cook until golden and beginning to crisp, 4 to 5 minutes.

005 006

Carefully flip and cook until golden brown, 2 to 4 minutes more.

008

I was so afraid these were going to be soggy and not hold together very well, but I was pleasantly surprised!

009

I tallied up my version of this recipe and each burger was 150 calories. Love it!

We enjoyed these burgers in pitas with guacamole (yum!) and some lovely fries and ketchup.

013 
I love girl’s night!

These burgers were so delicious! I think I have another recipe to work into my rotation. I love how this was a non-vegan recipe but with a few small changes, I made it so 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 23, 2010, in Dinner, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I’ve tried the black bean burgers before, but the chickpea ones look even better!

  2. conradvisionquest

    wow, those look a-may-zing! gonna have to try that.
    ~wendy
    http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/

  3. I love veggie burgers. I’ll have to try chickpea burgers this week.

  4. Yum! Those are like super-sized falafel! The guac makes it fun fusion cuisine!

  5. Those look delish! I bet your friends loved them =)

  6. Those burgers look lush! I want to make them now!

  7. Not a strange combo at all- they look great! I love that you made something that start out unhealthy so good and wholesome.

  8. Those burgers turned out beautifully! I’ll have to try them out. I love black bean burgers with guacamole.

  9. Thanks for posting this recipe! Your pictures look great. Well I tried making this meal just now, but my chickpea mixture came out too moist to shape so I just dumped spoonfuls into the skillet. Even after cooking them, they were still quite soft. I followed the recipe exactly though… Any idea what I could do to improve them next time? Add more flour? Less water? More chickpeas? Put mixture in fridge first, then cook? I’m new to cooking! Thanks!

  1. Pingback: Feeling inspired « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: JunkFoodJane.com - Changing my Menu

  3. Pingback: National Sweet Potato Day « See Sarah Eat

  4. Pingback: Better veggie burgers too « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

