Walk-running

Yesterday, in preparation for my 10 mile race on Saturday, I decided to try out some walk-running. After chatting with some folks on Twitter and doing my own research, I came to the conclusion that I need to pace myself for this race. I found some really useful tips on Jeff Galloway’s site, which hit home for me:

Most runners will record significantly faster times when they take walk breaks because they don’t slow down at the end of a long run.

By shifting back and forth between walking and running muscles, you distribute the workload among a variety of muscles, increasing your overall performance capacity.

Walk breaks will significantly speed up recovery because there is less damage to repair.

Sounds good to me! I’m going to try to use this method during the race to keep from fatiguing and also to speed up recovery. I am usually pretty sore after long runs so if walking breaks will help, I’m all for it. Still planning on some ice, epsom salts and Golden Tiger too though 🙂

It’s funny, I actually learned how to run using a walk-run method, but once I built up to the 30 minutes of straight running, I went to all running/no walking. In 2008, I ran my first 5k, 10k, 10-miler and half marathon, all without taking any walking breaks whatsoever.

I’m not that diligent in my training anymore, so I need to incorporate walking breaks now if I am going to make it through this 10 miler and upcoming half marathon (in three weeks)! I think I probably should’ve started this sooner, but oh well.

Yesterday afternoon, I headed over to a park near my work, where each lap around the track is 0.5 mile. I ran for 4 minutes and walked for 1 until I finished 2 miles. It was a little bit slower because of the walking breaks and the fact that it was 80 degrees yesterday (and sunny) but I’m still pleased with the time.

  • Time: 20:37
  • Distance: 2 miles
  • Average Pace: 10:19/mile

Afterwards, I went back to the gym to stretch and do some strength training. I did almost the exact same routine that I did last time I strength trained, which was March 24th, dear Lord 😉

My back, shoulders and abs are sore today so I must’ve done something right 😉 I’m planning to rest up today and may even take a bath tonight to soak my legs since they have been a little bit sore this week.

However, since the weather is so nice, I have a feeling I’ll be taking a nice walk or two at some point today.

How do you train for long races? Do you run it all or incorporate some walking breaks?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 1, 2010, in running, weight training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have never done a long distance run but I would think that the walk/run training would help…hmmm maybe they have a training program like C25K but for longer distances…(((((thinking cap))))))

  2. I did 4 miles in 52 today, intervalling it – so not real great but it was already over 70. Beautiful though, just warm!
    I love intervalling!

Leave a Reply

