Root canals and races

Today was one of the busiest days I’ve had in a while. I think this is the first time I’ve sat down at home all day!

I started things off right though, with a green monster 🙂

001This one contained: 1 cup Silk almond milk, 1/2 banana, a lot of spinach, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, 1 tbsp peanut butter and ice.

002I really couldn’t taste the cocoa powder very much. I’m thinking I might have to buy some chocolate soymilk and try that! 

Mid-morning, I had some coffee and nuts, as usual.

003

I had to eat lunch kind of early because I had an appointment to get a ROOT CANAL done today!

What is wrong with me? Root canal on Friday, 10 mile race on Saturday…

004

Leftover chickpea burger on a bagel thin with hummus and carrots on the side.

Plus, some pineapple!

005

I’m very happy to say my appointment went VERY well.

I mean, if you could have a great root canal, this was it. I had no pain during or after, haven’t taken anything for it either. Woo hoo!

Afterwards, I had to go get my packet for the 10 mile race tomorrow, but it just so happened to be close to a Starbucks…more iced coffee please!

006 I was quite hungry too (my appointment took a LONG time) so I took the opportunity to try another new snack they had.

007

These were yummy, plus they are gluten, dairy, nut and egg free. And $1.50. And portion controlled 🙂

After I got my stuff, I went on a hunt for some new running shoes. I ended up going with a pair of New Balance which I’ll have to show you all later.

It’s so funny, I have a new brand every time I buy shoes. First it was Adidas, then Asics, now New Balance. Ha ha!

I also got a new purse for $6 (regularly $32). I rarely buy stuff like this but it was too good to pass up!

010

My friend Courtney and I went out tonight, which included dinner at Qdoba.

008

Qdoba is a great place for vegetarians! Plus, we got to sit outside on such a pleasant evening 🙂

I got the grilled veggie burrito with black beans, rice, grilled veggies, lettuce, pico de gallo, salsa verde and of course, guacamole. I think there’s is my favorite. Normally, I would get it “naked” (without the tortilla) but I figured I needed just a few carbs for the race tomorrow 😉

We also made a Starbucks run afterwards but since I’d just had an iced coffee a few hours earlier, I opted for the unsweetened shaken green tea lemonade. It was yummy!

009

Warm weather makes me Starbucks crazy! I’d better stop before it becomes a habit 😉

Time to go to bed now, I’ve got a big race tomorrow. Be sure to check back here and over at River City Fitness tomorrow for updates!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 2, 2010, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, shopping, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. How did you make your Chickpea Burger? I just made one today for the first time and it turned out amazing!

  2. Hey girl! Chickie I just tried my Green Monster with Light Chocolate Soy Milk and it was gooooood! You HAVE to try it!

    OMG manana is your race? woooohooo! good luck love!

  3. I’ve been craving a GM for so long! Chocolate protein powder works well but not if you don’t drink it…….!!

  4. I got new shoes too. I love New Balance, but the arch is too low for me. I was convinced to buy a pair by Brooks that were on sale.
    I never tried Qdoba. There is one near me and I might give it a try.

  1. Pingback: My new pre-race tradition « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

