Easter 2010

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead…” (1 Peter 1:3, NIV)

What a beautiful day!

I decided after the 10-miler yesterday and being a special day and all that I should have a special breakfast this morning. Which usually means…pancakes!

I called on the Pumpkin Pie Pancakes recipe from my Vegan Planet cookbook. The last time I made these, I substituted a lot of ingredients but this time I stuck to the recipe for the most part, only substituting applesauce for oil.

024

I also cut the recipe in half so I wouldn’t have a lot of leftovers. They were so very good. Dense and yet still fluffy. I think the Silk almond milk helped too!

025

I topped them with Dark Chocolate Dreams and sugar free syrup (trying to use it up) and had blackberries and coffee on the side 🙂

When we got home from church, I was really hungry and knew we were having a late lunch so I snacked on some mixed nuts.

026

Lunch was nothing too special, except of course for the company. Anytime I have a disappointing restaurant/food experience, I always remember what my friend Carrie says: “So what if it’s not the best meal you’ve ever eaten, going out to dinner isn’t really about eating anyway, it’s about socializing, you can eat when you get home.”

We went to Our Best, which is a lot like Cracker Barrel with their southern style country cooking. Today was buffet style which was kind of disappointing because they usually have more veggies to choose from on their “regular” menu, but I just went with it.

I started off with some salad and a roll.

IMG00096-20100404-1338

When I went back through the line, I was sad to see the only thing really “safe” for me to eat was corn. My husband yelled at me from across the room not to eat the green beans – they were cooked in meat juice, he found out for me.

So corn, more salad and another roll it is!

IMG00097-20100404-1349

Believe it or not, I actually got pretty full. It wasn’t the best or most diverse meal ever, but I felt blessed to celebrate with our families, which definitely made it a special day 🙂

After lunch, I did some serious grocery shopping and since it was so warm and sunny outside, I said what the heck to another…

027 I am an addict. I need to at least start making these at home to save some money, right?

For dinner, I made a tasty Indian dish I found at Whole Foods.

028 

The only thing I dislike about products like this is that they aren’t as big as they look. The box said 2.5 servings but it was really more like 1.5 once I cooked it.

However, it was very good! Spicy, just the way I like it 😉 And still cheaper than an Indian restaurant.

030

I had some leftover peas and 1/2 of a Greek pita (I’m multicultural today) on the side.

029

As I am blogging, I am enjoying a POM spritzer, which is just POM wonderful juice and some seltzer. I’m going to write a longer post about POM at a later date since the company sent me some free samples 🙂

031

Time to do some housework, homework and soak in the tub before going to bed. I’m still not too sore from the run yesterday, just some tightness in my quadriceps.

Hope you have had a blessed and beautiful Easter weekend 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 4, 2010, in Breakfast, coffee, Dinner, holidays, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Holy moly- I’m still staring at those pancakes- I could seriously eat your breakfast every day for the rest of my life!

  1. Pingback: Frying vs. baking « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

