Itching for a run

As I was thinking about what to do for a workout today, I wasn’t going to run. I had planned on doing some light cardio and weights at the gym, especially since our weather was supposed to be more unstable including periods of rain or storms.

But…as usual, the forecasts were wrong and the weather was actually quite beautiful. I went out to run an errand before leaving work and I knew right then, I was going to run outside today! There was no way I was working out indoors on such a day. It was all I could think about the last hour of work 🙂

I didn’t want to do too much since I’m still technically recovering from the race on Saturday, so I decided to do an easy 2 miles in walk-run intervals (2 minutes walking, 3 minutes running, repeat).

  • Distance: 2 miles
  • Time: 23:22
  • Average Pace: 11:41/mile

For me, that is a pretty slow pace but since I used walking breaks (to avoid injury) and it was 85 degrees outside, it was good for today.

Afterwards, I came inside, stretched the heck out of my quads and did some quick upper body weights and ab moves before going home for the day.

The run felt really good. Better than most 2 milers I’ve done recently. I think the 10 miler enhanced my confidence greatly. I could’ve run more than I did but I didn’t want to push it. I’m planning on more running tomorrow, so we’ll see how it goes.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 5, 2010, in running, weight training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

