National Sweet Potato Day

Do you guys know that April 5th is National Sweet Potato Day? That’s cause for celebration…more on that later!

This morning, I tried a new green-ish smoothie that I’d seen all over the blog world: the Chocolate Cherry Bomb!

002 My version contained: 1 cup Silk almond milk, 1/2 cup frozen cherries, 2 tbsp cocoa powder, 1 tsp agave, and about 2.5 cups of spinach.

I actually had a little trouble with this one. My blender was dirty and I didn’t feel like cleaning it out so I used my food processor, which did not “process” this as well as I would’ve liked. I also think I used too much cocoa powder.

001BUT…it was still really good and I can’t wait to tweak it and make it again.

Mid-morning, I snacked on some nuts with coffee 🙂

003For lunch, I made a salad with carrots, a leftover chickpea patty, and some pine nut hummus.

004I loved how green this lettuce was. So much better than some of the others I’ve had recently.

I also ate a juicy orange with lunch. I just realized I got quite a bit of orange in my diet today!

005 Oranges are quite a pain in the butt to peel but so worth it. Yum!

006

Then later, before my workout, I had my first Larabar since I gave them up for Lent back in February!

007 It was delicious!

The whole experience allowed me to learn how to live without something and now that it’s back in my life, I don’t need to eat them so much that the special-ness wears off. I only bought two bars to have this entire week!

For dinner, I had only one thing on my mind. Couscous!

008

I love couscous and every now and then I get a big craving for it, which is usually when I go ahead and buy some. It doesn’t have as much fiber as other grains, but it sure it tasty!

010And of course, I had a sweet potato in honor of National Sweet Potato Day (thanks Lindsay for letting me now about this important food holiday)!

012 Oh yeah, and some kidney beans for protein 🙂

009 After dinner, I sipped on a Pom + Seltzer.

013 I’ll probably have a snack later but I’m not sure what yet. Dinner was so good, I don’t think much could live up to that 😉

What was the best thing you ate today?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 5, 2010, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. How did I miss National Sweet Potato day?! I might have to make up for it tomorrow…

    I’ve seen that smoothie all over the blogosphere too and haven’t tried it. Adding to the list of eats tomorrow with the sweet potato 🙂

  2. Those Pom Spritzers look so refreshing. What’s your ratio?

  3. I might cause a riot by saying this, but I like the chocolate cherry bombs with raspberries instead! I think you can taste them more than the cherries. 🙂

  4. I cant believe I didnt celebrate SP day!

Leave a Reply

