Pound for Pound: Week 7

What a difference a week makes!

Last week, I had a major revelation. It was a wake up call, to say the least. Even though I gave up eating bars for Lent, I really feel like this was what I was really meant to learn: that I need to treat my body well by eating wholesome, nutritious foods and not to rely on junk when my health or my emotions are ailing.

So, I made some new rules for myself and my personal eating philosophy. And I feel so much better now! I believe getting back on track really helped me do well in my 10 mile race on Saturday too 🙂

Since I am in the middle of a weight loss challenge here at work, let’s see how I did in that area:

  • Last week’s weight: 151.2 lbs
  • This week’s weight: 150.8 lbs (Difference: -0.4)
  • Total lost to date: 0.8 lbs

Obviously, I feel pretty good about this number, especially after my huge gain last week. I almost expected a bigger loss, but I really feel like I did my best this week, which is all I could hope for. I ate nutritious and whole foods, kept processed stuff to a minimum, and had a positive frame of mind the entire week. Plus I ran 10 miles for goodness sakes!

I’m still a ways away from my original goal of losing 10 pounds for this challenge. However, there are still 12 weeks left to go, which is plenty of time. I just need to keep things in perspective and be patient with myself.

I also noticed that I blogged my eats for an entire week! I am definitely feeling like the old me again. When I am proud of what I am eating, it’s easier to share it here 🙂

Goals

This week, my goals are: keep eating the way I have been this past week, maybe even including some more variety in my fruits & veggies, take some walks with Suzie in the evenings, and to take at least one relaxing bath at some point this week — I did this last night and it was amazing. I soaked in some epsom salts for my muscles, lit a candle, and put on soothing music. Nice way to wind down a busy weekend 🙂

What are your goals this week?

In case you’ve missed previous weeks and wonder how I got to this point, check out my Pound for Pound Challenge page!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 5, 2010, in challenges, Weight, weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hey chickie!!! Kudos on your Lent Success!!!! and also on shedding some weight and of course I love your positive attitude! You did your best and that is ALL you CAN do so yay you!

    My goal this week is to get more sleep and try to get back into my regular sleeping routine. Also, I want to do more Pilates! I have been seriously slacking in that dept…no bueno!

  2. Great progress this week! My goal this week is to drink all my water and honor my body by no longer relying on sugar as my main source of fuel.

  3. I love your blog! It’s really inspiring!

    My goal is to space out these leftover Easter treats. I need to remind myself I don’t HAVE to eat them all today. That extra piece of chocolate can wait till tomorrow, or maybe even the next day!

    Good luck with everything!

  4. Yea for goals! Looks like you’re doing a great job!

  1. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 8 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

