Frying vs. baking

I woke up an hour and a half late this morning! I don’t know what happened, but I set two alarms for tomorrow 🙂

I had to rush breakfast, so I had a quick leftover pumpkin pancake with almond butter and a glass of GoodBelly.

001But somehow, I managed to find time to stop at Starbucks before work (okay seriously, last one for a while)! I also walked the mile into work this morning.

002 Snacked on some yummy vegan jerky later in the morning. Then went outside for a 15 minute walk.

003

For lunch, I had some leftover Indian food mixed in with some peas and a salad.

004 Plus a pear! I’m seeing a lot of green here 🙂

005

Late afternoon, I snacked on some yogurt and granola. I noticed after eating this, I wasn’t completely satisfied, which happens a lot with this particular snack. I may have to make it a breakfast option and bulk up the contents 🙂

006 I took another walk before my snack and then walked the mile back to my car this afternoon. In total, I walked for 65 minutes today. See, it adds up!

I had plans to run after dinner but once I got in cooking mode, I decided it could wait. I also took the opportunity to slow down and enjoy some wine!

007

This was just okay, definitely not the best I’ve had, but I will drink just about any wine. Sometimes you have to try something more than once.

For dinner, I had falafel on the menu!

008 The last time I made falafel at home, I baked it but this time I took a leap and drug out the deep fryer (one of three that we have and never use)!

009

The balls came out looking really good. I sampled one to make sure 😉

010 I enjoyed my falafel with some hummus, pita and asparagus. I swear, fried falafel is so much better. I mean, I knew that but I’m glad I finally took the time to make it this way tonight.

011

I had another half of the pita with hummus and one more ball (5 total)!

I usually don’t eat fried foods but if I’m going to eat falafel once in a while, this is the way to do it!

I also tried a new drink with dinner, which I randomly picked up at Fresh Market this afternoon.

012 It was just okay too. I like tea unsweetened but this was almost tasteless. I need to just make a pitcher of tea at home myself!

For “dessert” I had two spoonfuls of dark chocolate dreams.

013

I’m having some pain in my lower right side and I’m hoping it’s nothing serious. Ever since I had my gallbladder out in 2003, at the ripe age of 20, I’ve been paranoid that I’ll need my appendix out some day. Silly organs we don’t need, why?!

I’m hoping it’s just a combination of the fried falafel, wine and asparagus, which I won’t do all at once again, ha ha. We’ll see!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 6, 2010, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Lady you are doing so great! I am really proud of you…

    those fried falafels look amazing! I have to look for that jerky since I am saying bye bye to meat lol

  2. I have to agree with you on the falafel. Fried does taste a lot better. I have been baking mine lately though. At least if I bake them I don’t feel so guilty eating so many. And boy can I eat some falafel. Mm hm.

    I now have a craving for wine. I haven’t had a glass of wine since New Year’s Eve! I’m totally missing out.

  3. Oh yum! I just bought that falafal mix to try and was trying to figure out if I needed to bake them or fry them. Too bad I don’t have a deep fryer. Adding that to my registry 😀

  4. I have never seen vegan jerky. I’m headed out in a little while and I wonder if the EarthFare near me has it. Those falafels look amazing. I hate to fry, but I don’t think I’ve ever had falafels any other way.

  5. Falafel is soooo much better fried! And according to Alicia Silverstone’s Kind Diet, deep fried foods aren’t bad for you in moderation. 🙂 That’s all I need to hear …

  6. I like deep fried falafel best, but a good alternative is pouring the mix (made more watery, first) into a waffle maker, which cooks it up nicely. A falafel waffle.

  1. Pingback: Just keep moving « River City Fitness

  2. Pingback: Sticking to bland « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: On a kick « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

