My old "friend"

We had quite the rainy, cool day on Friday so I was forced inside to visit an old enemy friend, Ms. Treadmill!

I warmed up for 5 minutes and then ran 3.25 miles in 35 minutes before cooling down for another 5. I’m not worried about pace since this was on the treadmill. I gradually increased my speed from 5.0-6.0 over the course of 33 minutes and then the last few I sprinted between 6.0-7.0 which felt really good.

I was a sweaty mess when it was over!

I also decided to do some weights yesterday because I had time. I didn’t feel like doing multiple sets of anything, so I just did a bunch of exercises and tried to hit all the muscle groups I could.

  • Chest press + flyes (combo move) – 10 lbs, 12 reps
  • Bicep curls + Shoulder presses – 7.5 lbs, 12 reps
  • Lateral raises – 5 lbs, 12 reps
  • Front raises – 5 lbs, 12 reps
  • Bicep curls alone – 10 lbs, 12 reps
  • Tricep overhead extension – 12.5 lbs (single dumbbell), 12 reps
  • Bent over rows – 7.5 lbs, 12 reps
  • Reverse flyes – 7.5 lbs, 12 reps
  • Dead lifts – 10 lbs, 12 reps
  • Push ups – 10 reps
  • Tricep dips on bench – 10 reps
  • Side bends – 5 lbs, 25 reps (each side)
  • Leg curl machine – 55 lbs, 12 reps
  • Leg extension machine – 55 lbs, 12 reps
  • Sit ups with medicine ball – 25
  • Side to side twists with medicine ball – 25 (each side)

It never ceases to amaze me how I don’t feel like I did that much until I come back here and write about it! I feel pretty darn proud now 🙂

I’m hoping to take my dog for a nice long walk later today since I’m off work. The sun is out but I’m still waiting for it to warm up a bit more out there!

Happy Friday 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 9, 2010, in running, weight training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

