Ozone action day

I did not end up running yesterday for many reasons. It was 85 degrees, even at 7:00, my legs were hurting for some strange reason and mentally, I just didn’t feel like it. I chose to have a glass of wine, watch a movie and sit on the couch with my dog. And participate in the #fitblog chat on Twitter!

I knew I could get one in today though 🙂

I heard on the radio this morning that today is an “Ozone Action Day” which basically means, it’s going to be really hot and the less cars on the road, the better. Also it means don’t go outside if you can avoid it, especially if you are prone to respiratory problems.

Thankfully, I am not, but I was still glad that I planned my run for first thing this morning on the treadmill!

I would’ve taken the bus but it was 6 a.m. when I left the house! I also hit a slight detour on the way to the gym. It was very early and still dark and I accidentally passed up my exit on the expressway. But I managed to take a few turns and get back on the right track. Only set me back a few minutes 😉

I had a great run. I started out at 5.0 mph and worked my way up to 6.0 and sprinted at the end (6.5-7.0).

  • Distance: 3 miles
  • Time: 31:48
  • Avg. pace: 10:36/mile

It felt so good to get my run out of the way early and still have the rest of the day to get everything else done. No need to “fit it in” when it’s already taken care of.

I’m also starting to think I run better in general in the mornings (like races). I might be onto something here 😉

When do you prefer to run? Morning, noon, or night?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 14, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Mornings! I’m definitely an early morning workout kinda gal. I don’t like running in the afternoons or evenings. I usually have martial arts training in the evenings as well so if I don’t run in the morning, I won’t get the chance later.

    Ozone action day, interesting! I think that’s the first I’ve heard of that.

  1. Pingback: Early workout « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

