Happy Herbivore’s Vegan Corndogs

When I first decided to go vegan, I was not very creative when it came to my meals and I worried I would get bored from eating the same things all the time or relying too much on frozen meals.

Thankfully, it wasn’t long after I started my journey that I found the Happy Herbivore blog and her incredibly easy and tasty recipes!

Last night, I made her Baked Vegan Corndogs for the girls to take to our Wednesday Night Potluck.

I only had to buy a couple ingredients, including the dogs, dry mustard and onion powder.

And finally, after 7 months of vegan eating, I purchased my first box of Ener-G Egg replacer!

The box costs about $5, but there are 113 servings in the box! This is equivalent to 113 eggs!! It’s CHEAPER THAN EGGS! This box should last me a while 🙂

I followed the recipe exactly, which I rarely do. But, I still had a hard time getting the batter to coat the Smart Dogs, so it took a little effort and getting my hands dirty.

I also got the batter to cover 8 dogs, instead of the 6 called for by the recipe.

While they were cooking in the oven, I couldn’t believe how much my apartment smelled like “real” corndogs! I knew we were in for a treat.

When the corndogs came out, the coating wasn’t the prettiest and it had cracked in a few places.

But, I am pleased to say that these tasted very good. I tasted one first to make sure they were edible 😉

I never doubted it! Every recipe from Happy Herbivore I have tried has been great. I can’t wait for her cookbook to come out next year, I will be purchasing it for sure 🙂

To go with our “dogs” we had sweet potato fries, mixed vegetables…

and white wine.

Then for dessert, “sparkling” pink wine and a Tofutti mini ice cream sandwich.

Rewind

On my way home from work I was hungry (and thirsty!) so I stopped at Whole Foods and picked up a snack 🙂

This tea was okay, but not as “refreshing” as I had hoped for. I think next time I’ll just get a venti iced green tea from Starbucks 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 15, 2010, in Dessert, Dinner, products and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m a chearter, I buy the morningstar corndogs which are AMAZING! and I just got TJ’s corndogs ayer, which I can not wait to try!

  2. Oh girl those ” dogs” do sound good ! my boys love the veggie dogs (we try to cook all vegan at home for them too -except for the kids cheese pizzas) but I never liked hot dogs to begin with when I was a meat eater (almost a yr ago) so I never tried these either—–

    you should try the Tazo iced green tea on bottles— starbucks has them on the cold case for $1.90 here –/ or at SAMs club and Costco – they are flavored with lemongrass and spearmint and sugar cane!!

  3. Oops “in” bottles not “on” sorry!!!

  4. I’m gonna have to try those!

Leave a Reply

