Day 2: Headache & lots o’ bananas

I woke up this morning with a really bad headache that is just now starting to go away as I write this (8 o’clock at night). I think I got overheated in my sleep or I’m really sensitive to weather changes (it’s been hot, humid and rainy today). Or perhaps a combination of the two.

But I ate a good breakfast before lying on the couch and going back to sleep for four more hours! Yikes, I must’ve needed it.

001
Pumpkin Raisin Oats

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup plain almond milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tbsp raw wheat germ
  • 2 tbsp raisins
  • 1-2 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • Heat almond milk and water on high until it comes to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and stir in oats. Cook for 5-7 minutes, stirring often, until desired consistency is reached.
  • Add in pumpkin and stir for an additional minute or so, allowing pumpkin to heat up. Remove from stove, stir in wheat germ and top with raisins and peanut butter.

When I woke up from my really long nap, I was ready for lunch. But first, I had to walk Suzie who got REALLY wet from the monsoon going on outside.

003
Poor wet dog!

For lunch, I had my last Gardein “chicken” breast. It’s technically processed but it expired before the end of the challenge, so I decided to go ahead and use it up.

004
I had it on top of whole wheat couscous with some Brussels sprouts on the side. It was hard not to sprinkle salt or add Smart Balance Light to the veggies, but they tasted just fine without!

Before I went grocery shopping, I snacked on a banana.

005
I also picked up a black coffee while I was out. I didn’t want to send myself into caffeine withdrawal while I already had a headache! But it made grocery shopping quite relaxing! I may have to do that more often ;-) 

For dinner, I decided to work with these two ingredients.

006
I drained and rinsed the beans well before adding them to the pot with the tomatoes. I heated them over medium heat for about 10-15 minutes.

007
While the beans + tomatoes cooked, I heated up some mixed veggies in the microwave.

008 
I poured a portion of the bean mixture over some whole grain brown rice that I made in the steamer/rice cooker.

010
It was a weird looking plate of food but it sure tasted good!

009 
In this challenge, it is suggested that alcohol be enjoyed in moderation, so I went ahead and finished off the half glass that was left in a bottle I got last week.

011

I’m not going to buy anymore wine for home until the challenge is over, but I do plan on enjoying a drink on my birthday 🙂

For dessert, I made banana soft serve with a twist!

012
I made the regular banana soft serve recipe and when it was just about done, I added a handful of blackberries and blended it for a few more seconds.

It wasn’t as thick and creamy as the bananas alone, but it still tasted great!

013  
Day 2, in spite of a possible migraine, went pretty darn good too. Hope all my fellow challengers are feeling strong 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 2, 2010, in Breakfast, challenges, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, recipes, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great job! Wine is good for the heart 🙂 I love the dinner idea of tomatoes and beans with veggies.

  2. yum, I would love that blackberry banana soft serve. YUM!!

  3. Day two looks like a success 🙂

  4. Somehow, that bean mixture looks wonderful to me right now. I love beans over rice. I have mixed feelings about those gardein “chicken” things, though. My hubby loves them, but maybe I’ve just not had them the right way yet.

    I love the idea of the banana soft serve, but when I tried making it, I found myself having a nightmare trying to get it out of the bottom of the blender. How do you get it out without half of it going to waste?

  5. Sarah: I use my food processor for the banana soft serve. I’m pretty sure my blender would ruin it too!

  6. Just a little tip about steamed veggies (especially brussels)…try to squirt a little lemon on them – tastes great, and you won’t miss the salt or butter! Yum! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 2: Headache & lots o’ bananas « See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

