Day 3: Smoothies and Snackiness

For breakfast this morning, I had something I hadn’t had in quite a while…a smoothie!

001
Then I quickly realized why I haven’t had it in a while. My blender really sucks, I think I need a new one stat. However, several stops and stirs later, this finally blended up to be a good one.

002
This smoothie contained: 1 cup plain almond milk, 1 frozen banana, 1/4 cup frozen cherries, a few handfuls of spinach, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, and 1/2 tbsp maca powder. The maca gave it a weird aftertaste again, I’m not sure how to mask it better. 

Mid-morning at work, I had a cup of coffee and some nuts.

003
I really love the taste of natural almonds, more so than roasted or salted ones.  That’s not true of a lot of other nuts!

For lunch, I had another leftover black bean burger on a salad with salsa.

006
Plus a gala apple and Bora Bora bar, which I don’t think fits into the challenge but it helped round out the meal!

004
It tasted really good too! I may have to try another flavor once this challenge is over 🙂

005  
For my afternoon snack, I had 1/2 cup of granola with a splash of unsweetened rice milk. This was sort of a last minute decision this morning when I was packing my bag, but it ended up being great!

007
I also had two cups of tea this afternoon as it was quite chilly in the office with the air conditioning on.

After work, I went for a 2 mile run, stretched and did some abs. It felt good to work up a sweat again, it had been a few days!

I am happy to say that I haven’t had a diet soda in two days, even though today I wanted one really badly. But then I remembered the headache and stomach troubles they give me. Not to mention they cause food cravings.

Thankfully, I made something even better when I got home: a POM Seltzer 🙂

009
So refreshing and tasty, without all those nasty chemicals and artificial sweeteners!

For dinner, I heated up some leftover beans & tomatoes from last night and threw them on a sweet potato with some leftover veggies on the side.

008
Then while watching House and 24 with Josh (well, he watches, I blog and straighten my hair, ha ha) I snacked on some dried apples and oats with peanut butter.

010 011 
The snack monster started to creep in, so I came upstairs and brushed my teeth. I have to use a special $16 toothpaste in the evenings to protect my teeth from cavities, so trust me I don’t want to waste it!

Day 3 = Totally awesome.

What are your tips for dealing with “snackiness?”

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 3, 2010, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks, workouts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on more awesome whole foods meals! I like raw almonds better than roasted, too; they’re softer and sweeter.

  2. Congrats on another great day!

Leave a Reply

