One step at a time

Today, I had planned to run 3 miles.

But really, it was a miracle I ran at all. Every time I do the Triple Crown and mini-Marathon, I experience a little bit of burnout afterwards and my motivation to run isn’t what it once was.

003

So I had to remind myself how much I do enjoy running and how good it makes me feel. Once I got outside and started going, I felt so much better!

I just did 2 miles (in 20:27), but last time I did 1.5, so I figure I’m working my way back up. One step (or half mile) at a time, right? I have a 5K race coming up this weekend, so I’m sure that will inspire me 🙂

After the run, I came back and stretched for about 10 minutes, including several spent in half pigeon pose, which I need to do more often — my hips have gotten so tight again!

Then I did some quick abs exercises: regular crunches (35), reverse crunches (35) and side-to-side twists holding a medicine ball (35 reps each side).

I don’t really have a plan for the rest of the week, but I think I will try to get in one more run before the race on Saturday and perhaps some weight training too. We shall see!

When you aren’t that motivated to work out, how do you get yourself out the door?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 3, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I have to keep reminding myself about how great I feel once I am done…

    You look too cute in that picture, I love your hair like that =)

  2. Just like you! I have to remind myself how great I feel afterwards and how far Ive come and how much better my mind and body is not because of it. Good job motivating yourself!

  3. Question: I was inspired by your story, and between your blog and a few others (Healthy Tipping Point especially) I decided to start running. I started a newbie running program back in January, and my first 5k is on Saturday! I’m so excited!
    My question is how much should I run this week, and when should I take a break before the run? I ran Monday and Tuesday and now I am unsure of when to break before the race. I know I should take off on Friday, but should I also take a break another day (like today or tomorrow) as well? I look forward to your advice because I know you have been there and done that! 🙂

    Thanks,
    Jennifer

    • Jennifer, that is so awesome! Good for you!

      My advice, if it were me, would be to take off (or do some crosstraining) today, run on Thursday and then rest on Friday before your race.

      But it’s really up to you and what you are comfortable with. I know some people who can run every day and not get sore or tired but for me personally, 3-4 days a week is more reasonable.

      Best of luck, please let us know how you do! 🙂

      • Thanks, Sarah! Instead of running today I will take my pups on a nice long walk!

        I haven’t noticed any soreness when I run (except in the beginning), but my legs do get tired and give up on me if push it too much!

        Will definitely let you know how the race goes! The best part is that it is a “mom” run, so my 13yr old daughter will be running with me! 🙂

      • The 5k was so much fun! I had a blast, and so did my daughter. We both can’t wait to sign up for another one. Her time was 27:17, and my time was 35:44. Of all the days I have been running and training, I can honestly say that yesterday’s race was the MOST fun I have ever had running! 🙂

      • Yay, Jennifer! That is so awesome. I am so glad you and your daughter had a great time racing together. Having fun is the most important thing for sure 🙂

  1. Pingback: Movin’ on up « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

