Pound for Pound: Week 11

I have to say that after all the revelations I’ve had the past two weeks, especially in regards to weight, I didn’t even really want to weigh in today. Not because I’ve given up but because I’m feeling okay where I’m at.

But I committed to this challenge back in February so I am going to see it through.

  • Last week’s weight: 149 lbs
  • This week’s weight: 150.3 (+1.3 lbs)
  • 8 weeks to go/8.7 lbs to goal

Thoughts? Last week, I weighed on my scale at home (because I was not at work) and this week I weighed at the gym at work. At home, I also weigh with no clothes on and this week at work I decided not to change into shorts because if I’m really comfortable, it won’t matter if I weigh with my pants on and it saves me time too. So there you have it.

Another revelation

Yesterday, I had a really bad headache, partially caused by being overheated, so I was laying on the couch last night with the A/C on and just wearing shorts and a bra. Usually, even in my own house, I would be too embarrassed to sit around like this, but for some reason last night I was totally comfortable.

You see, even though I lost a lot of weight almost three years ago, I still carry the “scars” from it — excess skin, stretch marks, etc. Even though I am more comfortable in clothes that fit me well, I still have trouble with things like bathing suits, tight fitting shirts or anything spandex (which no one should wear, really). But why? It is because I don’t like the way I look in certain things? Do I really care what other people think?

One day I pointed this out to a friend of mine when I was wearing a shirt that showed my “rolls” and she said: “Sarah, I’m pretty sure you are the only one who notices it.” Maybe she’s right. Maybe it is okay to be 5’5″ and weigh 150 lbs (especially when you consider at one point, I was at 225 lbs). Maybe it is okay to be way too “chicken” to have surgery to remove excess skin because it would be too expensive and painful.

What I do know is that I have worked VERY HARD to get what I do have. I have walked, run, weight trained, done yoga, and treated my body very well through a healthy diet, especially now that I have started the Happy Herbivore 30 Whole Days challenge. So to me, that means I should be proud of my body, the way it is right now. Because look what all it’s done! So as I sat there on the couch last night, I felt good about myself. I felt comfortable and happy with my body.

So what now? Since I am in a healthy range, the weight really doesn’t matter. I’m still going to monitor it because Lord knows I won’t be comfortable if it starts going up too high (which has happened to me the last two summers). But I’m not going to stress and I’m not going to try to push my body to be something that it’s not. Because I’m fine just the way I am. Whether I stay around 147-150 forever, or someday I do manage to get to 135-140, I will still be me.

Maybe all this confidence is coming from my new haircut?!

Thanks for being such great blog friends! I will see you all later with a recap of HH30 Day 3 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 3, 2010, in challenges, Weight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You are so cool!
    Great motivation for today.
    I on the other hand am about caring about weight numbers right now because i’ve let it creep up. In 2 months I’ve gained 7.2 lbs and taken off now 2 of them. I do have weight goals – but know it will get hard again because it is easy for me stay around where you are, but I want to be where you want to be!

  2. LOVE the new haircut, girlie! You are rockin it! And your mindset is something to be admired. Your body is STRONG and FIT…it can do things that most people can’t even imagine. And why?? Because you treat it right, that’s why! And your mindset allows you to be healthy and strong inside and out. More people should have your insight…you are an Operation Beautiful note all by yourself;-)

    Love ya!

  3. Great revelation! I like the way you are thinking now 🙂

  4. You look fantastic! Love the bangs on you.

  5. The haircut is awesome! And good for you for being so confident in who you are right now. You’ve had an AMAZING weight loss!!!

  6. I understand how you feel about your “rolls” and other unseen “blemishes”. Your friend is right–no one else notices these flaws except for us.

    I have pretty bad stretch marks, some lose skin, and cellulite from my 110+ weight loss. It’s embarrassing. While I have no problem showing off my healthy body, I get really uncomfortable about my stomach area because of these flaws. I have to remind myself (sometimes daily) that they don’t matter.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Pound for Pound: Week 11 « See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

