Day 4: Oops!

Sorry for the short lapse in posting! I promise, I’m not having another meltdown. In fact, life has been so good this week that I’ve just been enjoying it too much to keep up with blogging 🙂

Today is my 28th birthday and I feel absolutely fabulous!

But let’s back up…I have a lot to catch you all up on.

For breakfast on Tuesday, I had oats in a jar!


Well, technically it was oat bran in a jar, but you know what I mean.

I cooked 1/2 cup oat bran with 1/2 cup almond milk and 1/4 cup of water, then threw it in the PB jar with a sliced banana and enjoyed the beautiful creation.


On Tuesday, I ended up drinking two cups of coffee at work, but I am glad to say that I have not had a diet soda since May 1st! And now that a few days have passed, I don’t even miss them 🙂

For a snack, I had some grapes. So refreshing and juicy!


Lunch was leftover beans & tomatoes on top of salad greens. I love making leftovers salads!

And an orange. I’m really loving fruit these days!

I mentioned my two cups of coffee already but I also had some decaf peppermint tea to help warm me up. I love tea and I’m actually kind of glad it’s been cold at work because otherwise I’d be too warm to drink any!

Later in the afternoon, I snacked on some edamame before my workout at the gym.

Then when I got home, I refueled with a special dinner…spaghetti squash!

I wrote an Examiner article on spaghetti squash a while back and I’m so glad to have it back in my life and remember why I loved it so much! I actually prefer spaghetti squash to pasta now, which is especially great for this 30 day challenge.

It’s just so easy to make, just cut it in half and bake in the oven at 375* for 35 minutes. It’s also so cheap (usually around $1/lb and I just buy the smallest one I can find) and a great way to get in more veggies!

I decided to step my sauce up a notch, using these ingredients.

I drained an rinsed the beans and threw half the can, with half the jar of sauce, into a pot. Then I chopped up 1/2 a green pepper and 1/2 an onion and stirred those in, simmering on med-low heat for about 20 minutes, while the spaghetti squash cooled.

Et voila!

This was so flavorful and amazingly delicious. The eggplant sauce combined well with the peppers and onion. There is something so satisfying about preparing a meal like this yourself and so much healthier than eating anything out of a box. Even though I used already-made sauce, I still feel like this meal was so fresh and whole 🙂

I’m so excited, I get to eat the leftovers for lunch today 😉

For “dessert” I had a small cup of oats with raisins and natural peanut butter. I’m obsessed! I’m pretty sure I could live off of oats and peanut butter, at least for a little while…

I can’t believe we are almost a week into this challenge already! I’ve noticed a big difference in my energy levels and I feel good about removing certain junk from my life that was weighing me down.

But, for dinner and dessert last night, I relaxed some of the “rules” and I really enjoyed myself. It was my birthday celebration with the girls at our Wednesday night potluck. I learned a valuable lesson too — there’s just something about making certain foods be for special occasions only makes them so much more enjoyable than if I ate them every day. Don’t you agree?

Stay tuned to find out what…

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 6, 2010, in Breakfast, challenges, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I have been a long time reader, but first time commenter. I just wanted to say how much inspiring your weight loss story has been for me personally, and that I appreciate how you’ve documented your struggles with “problem foods” lately.

    Your post really spoke to me today, because it is my birthday too! And although I am nowhere near your 70 pound weight loss I’ve recently lost almost 30 and I was just thinking this morning about how great I feel! I completely agree with you about how it is nice to be able to enjoy certain foods for special occasions and how they really do feel like a treat when you aren’t eating them everyday.

    Anyways, happy birthday! I hope you enjoy the day.

    • Happy Birthday Maureen! And bless your heart, you are so sweet 🙂 Thank you for your kind words and way to go on the 30 lbs, that is an amazing accomplishment! Thanks for commenting, I’m glad you are enjoying the blog, that means so much to me! Have a great day 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday, Sarah!!!! You only have a little bit of time left in your twenties so MAKE IT ROCK GIRL!!

  3. Happy Birthday! I love spaghetti squash! Your sauce sounds delicious! I am so with you on the oats for a treat. You can really make them into a treat! I agree with you on keeping things for a special occasion. Then you can really enjoy them as a treat since you miss them!

  4. HAHA we are so alike! I tweeted ayer to my friend “I could live off of oats and pb” hahaha

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY HONEY! I hope you have a great day. I am so proud of everything you have accomplished and know that this 28th year will be just as fabulous!

  1. Pingback: Alternatives to traditional pasta « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

