Movin' on up (again)

I am so glad I took my time, working my way back up to running a more mileage.

While I probably didn’t need to, I think it made it easier on me, both physically and mentally, and definitely made yesterday’s run feel absolutely glorious! It was pretty hot and sunny outside, so I took it to the treadmill, but for some reason, I didn’t mind that at all this time.

  • Distance: 3 miles
  • Time: 31:40
  • Avg. pace: 10:33/mile


Image Source

Woo hoo, 3 miles! I am so happy to have reached this milestone. It’s weird to say that when I think that just a month ago, I ran a 10 mile race and then a few weeks ago ran/walked a mini marathon!

But all of that was overwhelming towards the end, so it feels good to just be running for fun now 🙂

I warmed up walking for 5 minutes, then started out jogging at 5.0. Then I went up a little bit in speed each 0.25 mile lap. It looked something like this:

  • Mile 1 – 5.0, 5.3, 5.6, 5.9
  • Mile 2 – 5.3, 5.6, 5.9, 6.2
  • Mile 3 – 5.6, 5.9, 6.2, 6.5-7.5 (I sprinted at the end!)

Then I cooled down for another 5 minutes and drank A TON of water. I was pouring in sweat when I was done but it felt so good! I went into the other room and stretched myself out for a good 15 minutes. I cannot stress the importance of stretching. It not only prevents soreness and promotes flexibility, it just helps me calm down and really focus on the amazing things I’m doing for my body, which makes me feel good.

I also did another quickie ab routine: 35 sit ups holding 4 lb medicine ball, and 70 (35 each side) side-to-side twists holding 4 lb medicine ball. I’m kind of obsessed with abs right now! 🙂

Image Source

I have to keep reminding myself that I am doing a 5k on Saturday! I’m so excited though, it is going to be a blast.

There is something so relaxing and not intimidating about this race, I guess because it is the first time I’ve ever done this particular one and it is my first race back since the mini marathon. Plus the weather is going to be great. I can’t wait to report back to you guys! 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 6, 2010, in abs, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love when you talk about running, it ALWAYS motivates me =)

    This morning I ran 3.17 in the trails…my legs are hating those hills but I am loving how I feel when I am done! I am going to have Popeye legs soon ha

    Happy Birthday again lol

  2. I love medicine ball twists! Takes balance and coordination all while work the belly! 😀

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Movin’ on up « River City Fitness -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Day 5: Let the celebrations commence! « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

