Throo the Zoo 5k (2010)

If you read my other blog, you know that I had quite an amazing night that ended pretty early this morning!

I wasn’t so sure if that was the best idea to do before getting up at 5:30 this morning to run a 5k! Luckily, I was wrong 🙂 I threw on my clothes, bib number, and headed out the door!

042 
I met up with my friends before the start and it was a little chilly out so we were all ready to get going so we could warm up.

043
They ended up having a record number of people for such a small race, which you could tell just by looking around!

044
The race was called “Throo the Zoo” because it took place at the Louisville Zoo. The first two miles were around the parking lot and through an adjacent park, but the last mile actually did go around the Zoo itself 🙂

The Zoo has got some HILLS!

045

We saw a dude running with no shoes on! I tried to get his picture but you can’t really see his bare feet.
 046

The race was so awesome too! I never felt tired or anything, even on those hills. I know keeping up with my training after the mini marathon has helped.

Our unofficial time was 29:50, which is my 2nd best 5K time ever!

Note: My “official” time per the organizer’s website was 29:47 (9:35/mile pace)! I finished 468th out of 1796 runners and walkers. I was 41st out of 163 ladies ages 25-29. Woo hoo 🙂

I feel great and it made me feel a lot better about overindulging in some things last night. But I can’t wait to do this race again next year 🙂

Oh, check out this dude’s shorts, I’m so terrible!

047
I’m running another 5K next Saturday, so this week I’m planning on keeping a similar workout routine, including a couple of runs and some weight training. It feels good to be back in the swing of things!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 8, 2010, in races, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The Detroit Zoo does a similar run – I think that’s so cool! Well done on the time, especially after a few cocktails last night!!

  2. That would be such a fun 5k!

    I can’t believe someone ran into without shoes. I’d be stressed out about stepping on something!

    I’m cracking up at the flame shorts. haha

  3. HA I saw some dude running barefoot today at Central Park! I could not stop staring at him…my feet would HATE ME if I ever tried to do that!

    WOW 29 minutes to complete a 5K?! I can’t wait until I can do that =)

  1. Pingback: Just don’t feel like it « River City Fitness

  2. Pingback: New gear inspires run « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

