Healthier baked beans

As many of you know, two of my favorite meals are beans with rice and a sweet potato covered in baked beans!

However, when I started the 30 Day whole foods challenge, I knew there had to be a better choice out there than the usual baked beans I buy, which contain a lot of sugar (both brown and regular) and sodium.

Aside from making them myself, I found the next best thing! Healthier canned baked beans 🙂

These beans are made with the following ingredients: Organic Navy Beans, Water, Organic Sorghum, Organic Tomato Puree, Organic Apple Cider Vinegar, Organic Mustard Seed, Organic Onion, Organic Spices, Sea Salt.

They contain significantly less sugar (6g as opposed to 12, per serving) and sodium (130 mg vs. 550)!

These Eden beans also have slightly more protein and fiber. It took a little getting used to at first because I was so hooked on the “sweet” taste of the Bush’s beans, but now that I’ve had these a few times, I prefer them — plus you can’t beat the nutritional upgrade!


They are a little more expensive per serving than some other brands out there. I think this 15 oz. can ran me about $2.49, while a larger, 28 oz can of Bush’s costs me $1.75 on average.

But, for my health and peace of mind, it was well worth it.

What healthier foods are you willing to pay more for?

Note: I bought this product with my own money and was not paid to review it for the company.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 11, 2010, in products and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

