Just don't feel like it

So, I haven’t ran since the awesome 5k race on Saturday. In fact, I’ve hardly exercised at all, unless you count cleaning and shopping, ha ha 🙂

Image Source

I’ve been struggling with some allergies the past couple of weeks and every now and then it flares up enough to take me down. I’m not really that congested, but I’m sneezing, itchy, have major headaches and I just feel really tired all the time. So I haven’t felt like doing much.

At first I felt “guilty” for not running and I was afraid that I would gain weight but that is just ridiculous! With a capital R! Where do these negative thoughts come from? I don’t know but I kicked them to the curb. I’m not going to gain weight and my body is going to thank me for letting it rest and heal.

One week is not going to make that big of a difference in the grand scheme of things. Sometimes it’s good to take a break, especially when you have been training for a big race or when you just aren’t feeling like yourself.

I had planned to run yesterday but once the end of the day drew near, I just didn’t feel like it again. Something was telling me to just go home. So I took Suzie for an hour walk (in the humidity) which pooped both of us out but in a good way.

We went about two miles or so. It felt really good to break a sweat and get moving again. I’m hoping I will feel up to something more today but we’ll just have to wait and see.

I also think it’s time to change my workouts from after work to earlier in the day. At least that is what I think my body is trying to tell me 😉

Do you suffer from exercise guilt?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 13, 2010, in Walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hello, I’ve been reading your blog for a few days/weeks. I like how you ask questions at the end- this one finally got me to respond.

    The answer is YES! I have felt guilty for a few weeks now (since the mini marathon) because I am not training for anything and don’t have any goals in mind. I really feel guilty when I drive past or see people out running.

    • Hi Erica, thanks for reading! You are definitely not alone in your guilt. I think that is why I have filled my summer with 5k’s because I am afraid I will not keep up with running if I don’t. But we are more than the races we run and train for. And if we need some time off now and then, we should embrace it and not feel guilty. Ride past that person running and think “Good for you!” instead of letting it make you feel guilty. Thanks for the comment!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Just don’t feel like it « River City Fitness -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Feeling squashy « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: New gear inspires run « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

