New gear inspires run

Even though I was amped up to do a 5k just a couple of weeks after my half marathon, I hit a wall after that. It was an awesome race but then something just came over me.

I didn’t run for a few days afterwards because I just wasn’t feeling it. But toward the end of last week, I finally got inspiration in the form of some new gear! 🙂

1. Socks.

003

Good socks are a must for running. These are “duo dry” which means they are breathable and also keep my feet dry from sweat. I can’t believe I ran with cotton socks when I first started running a couple years ago! And my other duo dry socks are quite holey these days…

These are from Target and only cost me $6 for three pairs. The best part is that they come up higher on the ankle to prevent getting rubbed by my shoe, which has been a problem with some other socks I have!

006 005

2. Sports bra tank

My sports bras are older than I would ever tell you. It’s THAT bad. They don’t fit right, they don’t support very well, I need to throw them away!

Luckily, I can replace at least one of them with this new sports bra-tank top that I also got at Target (I had a gift card from my birthday).

008 

Since I’m still a little shy about form-fitting things, I was surprised at how comfortable I was in this at the gym!

009 

It wasn’t the most supportive thing in the world, but since I lost 70’ish lbs, I don’t need that much support anymore if you know what I mean. I was happy though that as a sweat monster, hardly any showed on this top after my run!

This was $10 (cheaper than most sports bras alone) and I will be going back for at least two more 😉

3. Bondi Bands

Now, I didn’t wear one this particular day (wish I had) but I’ve worn one at the last three races I have done, including the mini marathon:

And last Saturday’s Throo the Zoo 5k.

043

Bondi Bands are easy to slip on and comfy headbands that stay in place and are made of breathable material. They come in many designs and some have writing on them too.

I purchased a few from Ryan when she was in town for the Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon expo. I got three for $20 and they were definitely a worthwhile investment. Plus I got to meet an awesome blogger!

They stay on my head and keep the sweat out of my eyes. Plus they are cute! What more could you ask for?

What new gear have you gotten recently or do you hope to get soon?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 17, 2010, in gear, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have been considering bondi bands! I need something for working out that will stay on my head (I have a really tiny head so headbands usually go flying off) and keep the hair out of my face. Everyone who has tried them, loves them!

  2. I agree, new “stuff” always pumps me up! Whether it’s new shoes, shorts, or songs just the minor change up makes it nice. I really want to get some Bondi Bands…glad to hear you like them. And I want some with cool sayings, too 😉

    PS- There is NO WAY you should feel self conscious in form fitting stuff! You.look.awesome. You have accomplished so much and are such an inspiration to so many. Go you!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention New gear inspires run « River City Fitness -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

