ECA Race Into Summer 5k

On Saturday, I participated in yet another 5k!

IMG00175-20100515-0816.jpg

This time it was for Eastside Christian Academy and it was their first time ever hosting the race. It was a very well organized event, especially for being a smaller race, and it was such a beautiful morning to be out running at E.P. Tom Saywer Park!

It was a little chilly at the start, but the sun came out and their was a nice breeze. It was really the perfect running weather. Long sleeves and sunglasses are a good indicator for me.

My friend Farrah was supposed to run with me but she backed out last minute. So it was all me! I didn’t realize it until now, but this was the first race I had ran by myself in a LONG time. Which is funny because that’s how I started was alone. So it was almost like the old days 😉 But I do enjoy having company sometimes too.

We got started a little after 9:00 a.m. and immediately I knew this was going to be a challenging race. We treaded on gravel, through grass and on dirt roads. My legs were feeling it a mile into the race, but my breathing was steady and it felt so good, mentally, just to be running again.

There was a water stop halfway through, which I stopped at and walked through as I drank a small cup of water. Then I started jogging again.

I tried to steadily increase my pace each mile and sprinted at the end. I teared up a little bit because literally, the last quarter mile, I was by myself and everyone at the end was cheering for me as I sprinted toward the finish, including a friend from church who told me about the race (one of her kids goes to school there).

It was just AWESOME.

  • Distance: 5k (3.1 miles)
  • Time: 30:45
  • Avg. pace: 9:54/mile

And I finished 35th out of 94 people, how cool is that?!

After I finished, I slammed three cups of water and then stood at the finish line to watch all the other runners and walkers come across and clap for them the way so many had done for me.

It was so awesome to see so many kids and families out there too. There was a 1-mile “fun run” but many of the kids did the 5k too! It made me realize that I can’t wait to share this with my kids someday.

I don’t have another 5k race until the 29th, but I’m so glad I have these to keep me motivated to run this summer. I’m thinking some Fall races will be on the agenda as well…

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 18, 2010, in races, running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Great race report. I didn’t know you were in the Louisville area. Any good running trails there? I am going tomorrow.

  2. Thanks Sarah! I will check it out.

  3. Way to go, Sarah!! I wish we had more 5Ks around here…heck, I wish we had more of ANY kind of races around here 😉 They are nonexistent unfortunately. But what a great run for you, and for an awesome cause.

    And it’s awesome to share my love of running with my kids! You’ll be a great mom-trainer!

  4. Awesome job Sarah! I ran my last 5k alone too. It was strangely enjoyable and nice.

  5. Great job! What race is at the end of the month? The UL run? (Run for the L of it?)

  6. Thanks for the tip Sarah. Ran 5 at EP today and it was great. Did a little trail and a litte path. Thanks for sharing.
    Rundad

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention ECA Race Into Summer 5k « River City Fitness -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

