Yummy product alert: Green tea ice cream

Dear Readers: I have two confessions to make.

First, the following product is one of the other reasons I decided to back out of the 30 Day Challenge. Also, as soon as I got a Whole Foods gift card for my birthday, I had this in mind as a must have. I couldn’t wait any longer!

Picture 258

I have wanted to try this ever since I saw it in the freezer at both my Whole Foods and Kroger stores. I have had green tea frozen yogurt in the past and loved it, so I couldn’t wait to try my new found vegan version!

This must be really new because I can’t even find it on the website.

Picture 259

Wow, it really tastes like green tea. Not as sweet as I would have thought (based upon previous experiences with green tea fro yo, which contained dairy) but so incredibly creamy.

It is made with organic coconut and contains just 12 grams of sugar per serving, which is a lot better than most ice creams I’ve had, both dairy and non-dairy. It also contains 6 grams of fiber, wow!

Ingredients: Organic coconut milk, organic agave syrup, green tea powder, chicory root extract, natural flavor carob bean gum and guar gum.

This is a frozen treat I can feel good about. It’s also really good topped with some organic strawberries! 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 18, 2010, in Dessert, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I love green tea, so I have to try this when I see it. I overindulged some on the chocolate version and I paid for it. LOL. I noticed that 6 grams of fiber after the fact.

  2. Yeah, I like the coconut ice cream stuff that’s out, especially So Delicious’ take. There’s another company that has a whole line called Luna and Larry’s Coconut Bliss but it’s more expensive. Honestly I don’t think it’s really unhealthy; the agave is moderate and everything is in there is awesome; the high fat balances out the sugar so I figure the glycemic load is pretty low.

  3. I just had some green tea frozen yogurt the other day when I went to ce fiore off Eastern Pkwy and Bardstown Rd. It was pretty good. Very refreshing.

  4. I have to look for this ice cream! thanks for the review =)

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Yummy product alert: Green tea ice cream « See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Does Lipton Green Tea(powder) work for the Green Tea Losing Weight plan? | Tea

  3. Pingback: Is this is Pure Green Tea ? | Tea

  4. Pingback: Reinventing « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

