Fast 3-miler

Something about taking a break from running seems to suit me, in that I run faster afterwards. It’s not something I want to do long term but I find it very interesting!

As I mentioned in my last post, I haven’t been doing much lately, other than a 5k here, a yoga class there, but not working out every day. I’ve been feeling under the weather (allergies) which explains some of it, but it’s still just not like me.

But today I decided I had to get out for a good run for sure! I was ready.

We lucked out with the weather! Right when Farrah and I were set to meet, there was supposed to be a big downpour. But it rained sooner than expected and cleared out just in time for us. It also stayed dry during our whole run, thank goodness!

When we first got started, it hurt. My legs were stiff, not used to running and I was out of breath. But I slowed up a bit, my body warmed up and eventually I was on cruise control. We reached a point where we could turn and finish two miles or keep going for three and I said “Let’s go!”

We were both kind of shocked when we saw the time on our watches…

  • Time: 28:35
  • Distance: 3 miles
  • Avg. pace: 9:32/mile

It was pretty much my fastest 3-miler that wasn’t a race!

The funny thing is, we were just out “jogging” and talking the whole time. Imagine if we’d been pushing ourselves even more!

Ahh, let’s save that for another day. I’m going to enjoy this one now. 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 20, 2010, in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. OMG honey that is amazing!!! you are such a rockstar!!!

    I am taking a week off (or longer) from running…my left leg needs to heal from my race…I want to feel 100 percent ALREADY!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Fast 3-miler « River City Fitness -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

