Hello, arms!

I was feeling a bit sickly today, thanks to allergies and the medication I took, which I won’t do again. I swear, it makes me feel worse than I did before, which is why I usually never take anything but my congestion and cough were pretty bad so I gave in. Ugh!

I had really bad allergies as a child, received really good treatment and haven’t had any problems since. But for some reason this year has been horrible. My mom suggested going and getting re-tested so that is a possibility.

Anyway, the good thing is that I went for a workout this afternoon and it made me feel tons better. 🙂

We started out with a quick 1.87 mile run (in 16:06! 8:37/mile pace!) and then came back for some weights.


(Image Source)

I used a 12 lb body bar and did 50 (yes 5-0!) reps of each of the following exercises:

  • Chest presses
  • Bent over rows
  • Upright rows
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep presses (aka “skull crushers”)

The chest presses were pretty easy but for most of the other moves, I had to do sets of 10-20 with a little break in between. My arms were shaking!

Then we did 50 regular crunches, some leg lifts, and side-to-side crunches with a medicine ball (50 or 25 each side). Lastly, we finished with side extensions — 50 (25 each side) holding 5 lb weights.

Do I even have to tell you how jello-like my arms are right now? They will definitely be sore tomorrow!

I think I’m going to have to do this workout more often. 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 21, 2010, in running, weight training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds as if each run is a little faster than the last one!! Great. My Doctor says this year has been one of the worst for allergies so that’s probably why you aren’t feeling any better-Just wait til the summer heat gets here! Any marathons in your future?

    • Yeah, I had heard that too. Normally, I wouldn’t be happy about this but I am looking forward to having hot weather next week, 80s-90s, wow!

      Thanks for the comment. I’m thinking of doing another half marathon in October. So far that’s it though. Lots of 5ks too!

Leave a Reply

