Adjusting the "schedule"

I realized today that starting in a week, I will be taking summer classes!

(Image Source)

Since I use my lunch hour (and then some) to do so, this means I won’t be having much free time to work out during the day.

I contemplated getting up early this morning to practice an a.m. run but it just didn’t happen. I’m still dealing with allergies and a cough, so mornings are the worst as far as how I feel. Since I still have a week to go, I’m hoping I’ll figure out how to adjust my “schedule” so that I can fit in workouts without feeling stressed.

Today, I went to the gym at lunch because I know that here lately, waiting until the end of the day has been dangerous. I’ve backed out of many a 4:00 workout the past couple of weeks. So 12:45 was a much safer bet!

I did 2 miles on the treadmill in 21:40 (a 10:50/mile pace) and I felt good. I stretched a lot afterwards then came back to work and ate a Larabar.

I figure for my new workout schedule, I have two options:

  1. Get up early and work out in the morning
  2. Work out after work or at night

I think it will end up being a combination of the two, depending on my schedule, how I’m feeling, the weather, etc. Speaking of weather, as it is getting warmer, these two times of day will be more ideal anyway. This week it is going to be 87 every day!

Hello, Summer 😉

What time of day do you prefer to work out? What factors does it depend upon?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 24, 2010, in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. If you can get your hands on some local raw honey, that might help with your allergies. Sounds funny I know, but a small bit each day will help with the congestion, help you build an immunity, and also help with the cough. 😀

    I’m an AM runner! If I don’t get out in the morning first thing it’s not going to happen. I also lose a lot of my energy as the day goes on.

Leave a Reply

