America’s (un)fittest cities

Today, I read online the Top 5 fittest and sluggish cities in America. The top 5 fittest were not too surprising, including Washington D.C., Boston, and Seattle. But what did shock me was #5 on the most sluggish list…Louisville, KY.

(Image Source)

The list, which is put together by the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) American Fitness Index, shows that Louisville actually got worse from 2009 to 2010, dropping from 38th down to 46th in the rankings of the 50 largest metro areas and their health stats, including “preventive health behaviors, levels of chronic disease conditions, health care access, and community resources and policies that support physical activity.”

I guess it shouldn’t surprise me. I actually still have to do a double take when I see someone out walking or riding a bike, unless it’s right next to a park. But it just makes me sad since I live here and I do make fitness such a priority for me, in my own life. But I used to be unhealthy and sluggish myself. So I guess I fit in more in my hometown back then.

xmas2005(Me and Josh, Christmas 2005)

xmas2009  (Happier and healthier, Christmas 2009)

However, I sort of feel like it’s a sign. I’ve long been interested in a career in the health and fitness field (which I am now going to school for) and what better place to use that interest to promote fitness in such a sluggish place?

There are already some local efforts going on today, like the Mayor’s Healthy Hometown movement and a city-wide weight loss program called Lose It! Louisville.

And I do have hope that some day, Louisville will be fitter and hopefully lose their place on the “sluggish” list for good! I hope I can be a part of that.

How does your city rank? Check out the original article here and the full list of 50 here.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 24, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Howard Whitman

    Impressive “before and after” photos! Congrats and keep up the good work

  2. I’m interested in seeing where LA ranks. For some reason I can’t get the article to work! But I see tons of runners, walkers and bikers out here on a daily basis. I think you will be a great asset to your city! It’s definitely a sign.

  3. I read that the other day as well. It motivated me to convince my whole family to run the Southern Parkway Moonlight Mile in August. It’s an 8K (5 miles), so it will be some good exercise.

    The bad thing about those types of lists is that it is only judging the 50 largest metropolitan areas, and that no matter what, 5 cities will ALWAYS be in the “most sluggish” list. They are not looking at cities that fall below a certain level, it is just the bottom 5. Just like with any competition, if there is a winner, there have to be losers.

Leave a Reply

