Cafe Lou Lou

Last Friday, Josh and I were set to go out to dinner and it was my turn to come up with “the list” from which the other person will choose where we go to eat. I was instructed to come up with at least 5.

We have very different tastes from each other and we’re both making an effort to respect the other person’s dietary choices and find places we think we’ll both love so no one gets disappointed.

Also, we usually like to follow what we’re in the mood for instead of just going anywhere, so a list is necessary in order to have a variety of restaurants and cuisines for the other person to pick from.

One that was on my list last week was Cafe Lou Lou, a cute local place that I’ve been to a few times before but Josh never had. He’d mentioned craving Italian food and I wanted veggie pizza or some other sort of carb + veggie dinner since I was running a race the next morning.

Nothing on their menu is exactly vegan, but I don’t mind saying “no cheese” or making other substitutions in order for us to enjoy a new place together. I ended up ordering the spinach artichoke pizza with no cheese.

Spinach artichoke pizza at Cafe Lou Lou

All the veggies were fresh and I was really excited to have made this choice. But when I started to eat it, I realized it was really plain tasting. There was no kind of sauce on it and they did nothing to the veggies other than bake them with the crust.

Luckily, I fixed that!

Pizza

Much better. I was glad there were other veggies on it besides the spinach and artichoke (tomatoes, mushrooms, onion)  since the artichokes themselves were pretty puny. I like big, chunky artichoke hearts like you get on the grilled artichoke sandwich at Penn Station. These had been cut up too fine for me. But all in all, a decent meal.

I had the leftovers for lunch a couple of days later, which I found out tastes really good with hummus on top!

Leftover Lou Lou's

Speaking of hummus, I think next time we go there, I will just order the hummus appetizer 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 4, 2010, in Dinner, restaurants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love that compromise! 🙂 That’s so great!
    Food looks great when you spiced it up haha

  2. Lately I have been finding it easier to go out to eat with my family…but sometimes I find myself wanting to take a bite of their food but thankfully I have resisted the urge.

  3. How funny, my boyfriend and I do the same thing – usually it’s me providing a verbal list, however I think it may be time we officially take turns! Great idea!

  4. If you ever need some restaurant suggestions, let me know. I’ve got tons. Also, I use Louisville Diner to look at menus for the restaurants listed on the site.

Leave a Reply

