If you bring it, they’ll eat it

This past Sunday, I started a new “coffee shop” at church for our youth group before Sunday School. Each week, our goal is to have coffee, hot chocolate, tea, OJ, etc. for them to enjoy, plus some snacks (or breakfast for some of them) to munch on while they hang out with their peers before their classes start.

As we were planning for this the week prior, there were some suggestions made about what sort of snacks I could get. But I decided almost immediately that if I am in charge (and I am), there was no way I going to promote unhealthy eating  (donuts, pastries, and other junk like that). When I was their age (12-18), I was overweight, then obese, because of the foods I ate and my lack of regular exercise. So it’s a sensitive area for me.

I am not going to be preachy or try to make anyone feel bad, but I am going to do my best to make sure that these kids get some healthy snacks, while they are in my “care” at least.

So, in lieu of donuts and other nutritionally void items that have unfortunately become a staple in our community, I covered the counter of my “coffee shop” with a big ol’ plate of fruit (apples and bananas), granola bars (low cal, low fat), and two dozen vegan muffins!

040

Well, okay, so really like 21 because I ate one of each to make sure they were edible and the second batch only yielded 11 muffins to begin with. 😉

First, I made a batch of Apple Spice muffins from one of my vegan cookbooks. When I remember which one, I’ll post it here.

037

I took the suggestion of the author and made this using applesauce instead of apples to save time. Unfortunately, I didn’t care for these very much. They just didn’t have enough spice to them and they stuck to the paper, a lot. I may try to tweak this recipe at a later date!

However, these Banana Nut Muffins from another one of my cookbooks and they were phenomenal! No sticking either 😉

038

I used two very ripe bananas in this recipe and they came out so moist and sweet. I may have to make these again just to have at home!

039

The best part about all of this is that the kids ate everything! Even the sort of bland apple muffins I made. They had no idea the muffins were vegan either. 😉 

No one complained about there being no donuts. And they kept coming back for more fruit! It made me feel so good. I can’t wait to do it all over again this Sunday.

Speaking of which, I need your help: healthy muffin recipes are endless but I’d like to change it up a bit too so we’re not having essentially the same thing every week.

What other healthy (and fairly inexpensive) breakfast foods should I make (or buy) for the coffee shop?

I’m thinking one week, I’ll try out an oatmeal “buffet” but perhaps after they’ve gotten to know me a little better 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 11, 2010, in Breakfast, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What about granola and vegan yogurts? Or make vegan fruit and yogurt parfaits. Breads like banana and zucchini baked with whole wheat flour. Good for you for providing healthy snacks!

  2. Scones are always popular if you can get the consistency right. I’ve always had trouble with it but I’m sure with a solid recipe it would work. Farmer’s markets have beaucoup blueberries right now.

  3. How about Banana Bread with Peanut Butter. I mean you could make the Banana Bread Healthy and Low Calorie and then they could choose to put peanut butter/ butter and jam on the bread!! But that is only me!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

