Update on goals

I decided to kick my caffeine habit on Monday, May 24th and I am happy to say that so far, so good.

I still drink one cup of caffeinated tea per daybut that is significantly less caffeine than I was consuming (19 mg caffeine vs. 90). I have only had one minor breakdown where I was literally falling asleep at my desk and had to have a cup of the “real” stuff.

(Image Source)

But once in three weeks is pretty good, no?

I wish I could say it is helping me sleep better but that has actually taken a downturn (hence falling asleep sitting up). I’ve been up every night past 11 (sometimes 12) and then I’ve been waking up every morning at 5 or 5:30 to work out before work.

I can function well on 6-7 hours of sleep normally, but when I start going under the 6, it becomes a problem. I need to work on this soon because not getting enough sleep can cause a whole lot of problems! It seems like it’s hard to fit everything in and still get enough sleep but somehow I have to do it.

I also gave up drinking diet sodas and I think now that I have found enough other drinks to enjoy, it’s not so hard to resist them anymore. I haven’t had one since May 8th! Josh even has a 24 pack of Coke Zero in our house where I can see it and I’m still not tempted.

A diet soda here or there isn’t such a bad thing, but I have no moderation. I would drink that entire 24 pack in just a few days. Then the artificial sweeteners wreak their havoc on me. No good for me, so no thanks!

If you read my fitness blog, River City Fitness, then you know that I have been taking Body Pump classes regularly the past two weeks (this week is the 3rd). Since I am in a regular weight training program now, I am trying to pay more attention to what I eat after my workouts, including adding more protein to some of my meals and snacks.

I’m also learning a lot thanks to this summer “Nutrition in Athletic Performance” class that I’m constantly cramming for taking right now. I’m also having a lot of fun, eating healthy, hanging out with friends, not worrying about my weight and just enjoying life.

So that’s what’s going on right now. How about you?

Have you given up something recently? How is it going for you?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 14, 2010, in challenges, changes, goals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You are my hero- couldn’t do it. That will probably be my last vice

  2. Once in three weeks is great!

    I’m the same way about all or nothing. My hubby loves root beer, and that’s the only soda allowed in the house because it’s the only one that I won’t touch. If he brought in just about any other soda, I think I’d go through the whole 12 pack in a couple of days.

  3. Props to you! In college I tried to de-caffienate my life, however it only lasted a few weeks and the withdrawal headaches were intense. Coffee is the one thing I look forward to when I wake up and I can’t take it away! GL!

  4. Great article! I think training your abs is needed for a fit and healthy look. Some people go to the gym 24/7 but i train my abs at home. http://www.buikspieren.nl

  5. Good for you! 🙂 It’s nice to meet your goals with success!

    I don’t think I will ever give up caffeine or diet coke but I definitely will cut back. These beverages are definitely my one vice that I don’t want to tackle completely.

Leave a Reply

