Wildwood Probiotic Soyogurt

Before I gave up dairy products, I was a big fan of Greek yogurt because it was high in protein and contained very little sugar (I stuck to the plain variety). Ever since I became vegan, I have been struggling to find a non-dairy yogurt that met my high standards. And I have tried a lot of them!

Most of the flavored soy yogurts (and even some plain, like Whole Soy & Co) I have tried have sugar grams at least in the double digits (some even in the 20’s). I’ve tried just about every brand of soy yogurt on the market.

I even tried coconut milk yogurt but I really did not care for it at all. Since my last container of plain soy yogurt ran out, I had sort of given up and decided to take a break from yogurt for a while.

But then I found another brand, Wildwood, at a local health food store and I knew I had to give it a try.

013

The first flavor I had was blueberry (16g sugar):

012

This one was pretty good. A bit on the sweet side but I felt that it went very well with my blueberry granola 🙂

014

Then strawberry (17g sugar):

021

This one was okay too, just as sweet as the blueberry, maybe a little moreso. You know how when you eat really sweet yogurt it sort of stays with you (like an aftertaste)? Yeah.

I also tried the vanilla, which managed to escape the camera. It was actually sweeter than the first two flavors I tried (21g sugar, good Lord). I didn’t care much for this one at all, it was pretty overwhelming. I was surprised it had more sugar than the other two.

And then finally…drumroll please…

033

This is THE BEST SOY YOGURT I’VE EVER HAD which contains just 4g sugar and 6g protein! I apparently saved the best for last. It was so creamy and to me tasted even better than the overpowering sweetness of the other three flavors.

This is my perfect vegan yogurt. It also boasts 5g fiber!

034

I am beyond thrilled. I had heard of this product before but I did not know anywhere in Louisville sold this brand since they don’t seem to carry it at Whole Foods (although they do have Wildwood Probiotic drinks there). I sort of found it by accident one leisurely Saturday while out shopping!

But I will be making more trips to Amazing Grace to pick up some more of this stuff. I can’t wait to make overnight oats with it 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 15, 2010, in products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Yay! I’ve been on-off with nondairy yogurts, too…they are such a good snack, and a great source of calcium and magnesium, but the sugar count is higher than soy pudding! I’m glad you found this product; I’ll have to look for it 🙂

  2. Good thing I’m not vegan! I’ll stick with my Greek yogurt 😉

  3. I admire you for always trying new things so you can stick to your new lifestyle! I love yogurt and can’t imagine having to give it up…but if I ever do, I will give those a try =)

  4. I’ve been missing greek yogurt badly too – the whole soy sweet yogurts are the first sweetened yogurts i’ve had in years, but now I’m keeping my eye peeled for these! thanks for the heads up!

  5. Soy yogurt is the best! I’ve always wished I could find different brands though. It seems like in which ever city I’m in theres only one time…and its so good! I found my favorite in France but I doubt I’ll be eating that one again any time soon!

Leave a Reply

