Seeing results

I am now into my third week of Body Pump and I can already tell a difference!

My results aren’t exactly “visible” yet but I can tell that I am getting stronger with each class. I have even increased my weight on a few different tracks: squats, back, and biceps. Lunges are also getting easier (did I really just say that?).

I enjoy Body Pump because it pushes me so much harder than I would push myself in the weight room. I like having an instructor there to tell me what I’m doing wrong and to encourage me in what I am doing well. Body Pump is also about endurance and toning, which is exactly what I am looking for.

And even though I have been in a class with men before, I love how this class I’ve been attending has been all women so far. Even though I know guys are typically stronger, it’s less intimidating not having them around 😉

Here is a breakdown of what I’ve been using on the bar:

  • Warm up – 5 kg (11 lbs)
  • Squats – 10 kg (22 lbs)
  • Chest – 5 kg (11 lbs)
  • Back – 7 kg (15.4 lbs)
  • Shoulders – 5 kg (11 lbs) + 4-5 lb hand weights we use for lateral & front raises
  • Lunges – 7 kg (15.4 lbs)
  • Triceps – 5 kg (11 lbs)
  • Biceps – 5 kg (11 lbs)
  • Abs – N/A

I started out lighter on squats, back and biceps before realizing more weight works better for me. I can’t wait to see how I improve in the future!

Body Pump 74 just got released over the weekend and I haven’t had a teacher run through it yet. We’ll see what happens at tomorrow’s class. Apparently it’s brutal (in a good way, ha ha). I think I read something about “walking hovers” — yikes!

If you like weight training but can’t ever seem to get yourself doing the right things in the weight room, I highly recommend this class.

Many gyms offer Body Pump, even this small one that I go to. It’s been a great experience so far having somewhere to go but I’m still kind of bummed there is no cardio cinema or spinning classes. I’m thinking about switching to a different gym when this contact is up in November. 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 16, 2010, in Body Pump, weight training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have a friend that teaches Body Pump. I have never seen it though. I went to Butt and Gutt class today. I hadn’t been since last year (before I started running) and it was tough! Guess it’s good to exercise all the different areas!

  2. That sounds like a really great workout.

  1. Pingback: See Sarah Run « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

