First coconut water experience

Now that the outdoor temperatures and humidity are climbing and I am continuing to run in spite of them, I have to consider drinks other than just plain water to replenish myself after a workout. Since the warmer temperatures mean I will be sweating more, it is essential that I replace the sodium I’ve lost and maintain a balance of electrolytes.

I’m not too big on your typical sports drinks. I like my VitaminWater Zero but turn my nose up at stuff like Gatorade and Powerade which contain a lot of sugar (and the latter has HFCS).

Plus I think they can be overused or used when they aren’t even needed: if you aren’t exercising in extreme heat or cold, or for a long period of time, then you really don’t need these drinks at all.

You’d be better off doing this:

Image Source

However, I’ve been intrigued by coconut water for some time. It’s still as expensive (if not moreso) than the sugary sports drinks, but it does appear to be a more “natural” alternative.

For my first coconut water experience, I tried a few selections from the O.N.E. brand.

Image Source

Disclaimer: I did not receive any free samples, I purchased these with my own money. I was not paid to review these products.

According to their website:

  • O.N.E.™ Coconut Water is excellent for replacing lost  electrolytes from exercise or illness
  • O.N.E.™ Coconut Water is an all-natural sports/energy drink
  • O.N.E.™ Coconut Water is a natural isotonic beverage – contains a similar level of electrolytes found in human blood.
  • O.N.E.™ Coconut Water may help promote smoother, more hydrated skin
  • O.N.E.™ Coconut Water is non-allergenic
  • O.N.E.™ Coconut Water is rich in potassium. Potassium helps regulate blood pressure and heart function.
  • O.N.E.™ Coconut Water is an effective oral rehydration medium and keeps the body cool.

The first one I tried (since I wasn’t brave enough to try just “plain” first) was Coconut Water with a splash of Pink Guava.

015

I was not a big fan of this one, but I believe it was the pink guava. Also, the consistency threw me off a bit (it’s quite thick) and I think I needed to shake it up better before I drank it next time. But I decided to still try the others!

029

I’m so glad I tried this one, I loved it! Passion fruit tasted way better than guava, so I was glad I didn’t let that one ruin it for me. I was also starting to notice how I didn’t drag as much when I drank something besides plain water after a run (I did drink water before and during though, just to be clear).

And lastly…

I’m almost convinced that anything mango is good, as far as I’m concerned. I love mango! This was my favorite of the three.

I still need to try plain coconut water (plus the other flavors I haven’t had yet, like the pineapple in that first picture) and perhaps sample some of the other brands on the market. I would like to buy these more often, but frankly they are a little pricey (these were ON SALE for $1.79 each and they are tiny).

I also try not to buy too many VitaminWater Zero’s, even though they are $1/each and you get way more liquid for that amount. Yet I think as the summer endures, I will make it a priority to drink electrolyte beverages but make it a combination of a coconut water here, an electrolyte powder there (33 cents each!), and some VitaminWater thrown in.

Have you tried coconut water? What did you think?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 17, 2010, in products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I love the passion fruit flavor and the plain coconut water. It’s SO good!

  2. I have never drank coconut water except from a REAL coconut and I love love love it!

    thanks for the review honey!

  3. I’ve only had the plain, and I liked it. It wasn’t what I was expecting. It had a far less coconutty taste than what I wanted. But it felt really healthy. And I like that. I can believe you’re still running outside in the heat. I’m afraid to, so now I’m exclusively on the treadmill at the gym.

  4. I have yet to try coconut water! My friend and I were in Chicago this past weekend for a half-marathon and she purchased some coconut water at Trader Joe’s and was raving about how she loves the stuff. I guess I gotta get on board and try it 🙂

  5. Hey There! I love your blog and like to get ideas on things to try… the coconut water sounded so good I went to Kroger to get some. I haven’t opened it yet, but I must share that they’re on sale at Kroger 10/$10. Now is the time to stock up!!

Leave a Reply

